We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday luncheon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Doves Nest Restaurant

The Doves Nest Restaurant
105 W Jefferson Street, Waxahachie, TX 75165
972.938-3683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 restaurants in Waxahachie
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: American, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great birthday luncheon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My God-mom took me here for a birthday luncheon. I liked the shop and all of it's cool finds, but the Doves nest food was fantastic!
I am a picky eater. The chicken salad sandwich my God-mom got was delicious and my grilled chicken sandwich was great, but the buttermilk pie was outstanding.
I suggest not getting soda here, because it can dilute the creative flavors and combinations. The bread on my sandwich was so full of color and taste.
I was full. I highly recommend this place. Get there before 2pm!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    35
    13
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waxahachie, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I frequent The Doves Nest every chance I get and LOVE it every time. I have Never had a bad experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Dallas Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food is always fantastic here. The orange tea alone is worth the price of the meal. Pasta specials are my favorite. The only reason for not putting five stars is that the groups enjoying lunch here tend to be somewhat loud, but this is a wonderful place for lunch with a friend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey tourist place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The food here is, at best, average and for what it is, is completely overpriced. I've been here on multiple occasions thinking maybe I just don't order the right thing, but I have come to the conclusion that this is just an overpriced tourist stop

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Keep thinkg the food will get better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Keep thinkg the food will get better but it doesn't. The last time I went took my niece 13. She order pizza which looked like it just came out of a box. Even the dessert was bad. Don't know why people like this place so much.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Doves Nest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Doves Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Doves Nest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.