We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite chain restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carino's Italian-Waxahachie

Carino's Italian-Waxahachie
988 W Hwy 287 Byp, Waxahachie, TX 75165-5166
972-923-2631
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 94 Restaurants in Waxahachie
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Waxahachie
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite chain restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We always enjoy the food at Carino's. It is one of our favorite local restaurants. The food is consistently good. I recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Italian food at Room Temperature”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Positives: Easy to find, plenty of parking, comfortable surroundings
Negatives: Lukewarm food

Johnny Carino's is one of our favorite chain restaurants. Their food and service has been relatively consistent regardless of location or time of day. That's why we chose them over other eateries for a combined "lunch" and "dinner" while visiting the Mansfield area.

We arrived about 3:00 p.m. in the middle of the week to find about two dozen other customers at booths and tables in two separate dining areas. We were seated in a booth next to the bar, where we waited several minutes before our server...the bartender...arrived.

Although he was already serving a customers at the bar and three other booths, our server was quite pleasant. He promised to bring bread as as soon it finished baking. About five minutes later we received a piping hot loaf, along with a saucer of toasted garlic with olive oil for dipping.

We were disapponted by the amount of toasted garlic received. Other Carino's locations provide a lot more. I don't know if this is an expense reduction policy or something our server did on his own. To us, withholding a few crumbles of garlic seemed stingy.

Another thing we noticed. At other Carino's restaurants, a bottle of balsamic vinegar is provided at the table. We didn't see bottles at any table. I had to ask for it.

We chose to order from the lunch menu. Potato soup was listed as one of two soup options. We ordered a bowl then were advised five minutes later it's only available Tuesdays and Saturdays. This didn't seem correct. Why include it on the menu if the soup is only served two days a week? Potato soup has always been available for lunch at other Carino's locations. Why is this one different? Were we told the truth?

We substituted minestrone for the potato soup. The ingredients were fresh and it tasted good but was served lukewarm. My wife has worked in food service a long time; she commented the health department wouldn't be happy about room-temperature soup.

For entrees we selected lunch portions of chicken bowtie pasta, and spicy shrimp and chicken. Although the bowtie pasta was overcooked and other ingredients had been cooked thoroughly, neither entree was hot upon arrival. They were, however, a little warmer than the soup. The flavors of both dishes were good.

Bar traffic increased during our meal, further dividing our server's attention. To his credit he remained pleasant but was understandably slow to check on our progress or furnish refills.

Given the temperature of our soup and entrees, and the likelihood we'd have to wait a long time for service, we decided to forego dessert.

I first tried Johnny Carino's at a different suburban Dallas location nearly twenty years ago. This chain quickly became a favorite because of their value, quality, and dependability.

Our experience in Mansfield does not measure up to the Carino's overall reputation. While our visit wasn't catastrophic, it certainly wasn't stellar. I'd say it was a bit below average. We were impressed the server remained professional despite his workload, but there is no reason to serve room-temperature food any time of day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Go for happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Drink specials and 1/2 price appetizers in a lovely setting with no smoke is a win in my book. If you are going to have a meal, I recommend the jalapeño tilapia. It is served with a cream sauce, angel hair and spinach. Yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,tx
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice to look at. Feels right,just not on the plate. I haven't found anything yet to warrant coming back, Pedestrian food at best.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very Family Friendly with Great Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had dinner at this restaurant while staying in Mansfield during a swim meet and very much enjoyed the "country Italian" cooking. This was our first time to try a Carino's and found the menu very easy to find good choices. Especially smart is their mini-deserts - a perfect way to end a delicious meal; not too much, just enough sweet and a good value. We have a Carino's in our hometown that we've never tried, but will be doing so on the basis of our excellent experience with this location in Mansfield. Recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carino's Italian-Waxahachie also viewed

 

Been to Carino's Italian-Waxahachie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carino's Italian-Waxahachie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.