We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the most stunning buildings I've ever seen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellis County Courthouse

Ellis County Courthouse
101 West Main Street, Waxahachie, TX
972 825 5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 attractions in Waxahachie
Attraction Details
Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“This is one of the most stunning buildings I've ever seen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped at Waxahachie for the Common Threads Quilt Shop if you can believe it! My sister and I are fabric lovers. We found an interesting shop online and when we saw the sign to Waxahachie we pulled off the highway.

Imagine our surprise when this amazing sight came in to view! I about threw my sister out of her seat cutting into a parking spot. It was over 100 degrees but I HAD to get out of the car and walk all of the way around the courthouse. This courthouse is breathtaking!

The 1849 building has angles and curves, carvings and stone in gray granite, pink granite and cream colored sandstone. It is a work of wonderful design! No matter what the weather, get out of the car and walk all of the way around. Read all of the plaques and soak it all in.

Waxahachie was about 15 miles off of our route but it was well worth the stop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You have to see the faces!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is one of the most historic and photographed courthouses built in the era of hand-cut stone and elaborate carvings. Be SURE you go all the way around it and look at all the faces. Start at the South-west corner and work your way around, looking at all the archways as you go. See if your kiddos can find the lions WAY up high.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mitchner acclaimed Beautiful Courthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fabulous architecture. Restored to original beautiful. Still a working courthouse, thus open during the week. Open for tours during special events in the city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Historic and interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a main attraction in Waxahachie because it is so well maintain and beautiful for pictures. It's located in the center (downtown) Wax. Across the theater and antique shops. Lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historic Courthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

One of the prettiest and most detailed in the nation. Worth a visit. In the center of the historic downtown area, a perfect picture taking opportunity from any direction.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellis County Courthouse also viewed

 

Been to Ellis County Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellis County Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ellis County Courthouse to your Saves list