We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Average at best"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Waxahachie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Waxahachie to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Waxahachie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 RVG Plaza, Waxahachie, TX 75165   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waxahachie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Average at best"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My recent stay at the Comfort Suites in Waxahachie, TX can be summarized in one word, average. This hotel is a classic "one night only" hotel for a wiery road traveler. The rooms are mostly clean but do not have the same "clean feel" of the more well-maintained Comfort Suites properties. Check in was smooth, but I immediately felt the "warmth" of the lobby and hallways. It was 78 degrees outside and they apparently did not have the air conditioning turned on for the hallways and lobby. The humid, warm air in the hallways made you hurry to the room and find the air conditioning switch. The room was your typical Comforts Suites layout with a fairly comfortable bed. My stay was for two nights, and after a long day in the Texas sun I returned to a room that looked just like I left it that morning. Absolutely no maid service, no clean towels, and no explanation. I contacted the night manager who apologized for the inconvenience and offered to clean the room himself. Since I was leaving early the next morning I declined his offer and simply took care of it myself. I would recommend this hotel only if you need a short, overnight stay. The room rates are on par with the quality of this property and you get pretty much what you pay for.

Room Tip: Groups tend to congregate in the small downstairs lobby area so chose an upper floor to avoid the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    22
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
18
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Everything about this Comfort location was outstanding. The suite was truly spacious. The bed was one of the most comfortable we can recall outside our own bedroom. The staff was friendly and helpful for check-in and check-out, in helping me with Internet and printer use, and in seeing that the breakfast buffet with hot and cold food choices was ready a quarter-hour before the announced time. By the way, I've discovered the Choice folks usually don't charge for making routine copies on the printer, in contrast with some other chains where we've stayed.

This location is also handy to the less-traveled way to the Dallas-Fort Worth Airport (Route 287).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Having sayed in a few hotels I was not sure what to expect at this one as I had never heard of them before. But they surprised me, the rooms were clean, well done and nice layout.
But most of all they were clean, and this is a new hotel so everything was new.

Nice staff too...free breakfast.

Room Tip: The have several discount plans including military rate. Ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfieldm
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ATTENTION CORPORATE ACCOUNTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CR England is a trucking company that does "THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS" with this hotel on a weekly basis.

These people (staff & owners) at the hotel "DO NOT" provide breakfast for this company, neither clean their rooms everyday. Now, I can understand not physically cleaning their rooms everyday because they are there for long periods of time, but the least this hotel could do is offer these people room service with their trash being taken out daily!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They treat these students and employees of CR England like they are "trash" the rooms are not free the Corporate office of CR England pays for these rooms on invoice so, "Why" are these people being treated like the rooms are free and they are homeless individuals who need the help?

Now, to the staff of the front desk. The suppose to be General Manager named Charity has "NO Customer Service skills what so ever, I mean NONE!!! When the students go to her regarding a problem with her staff she blows it off as if her staff is right and everyone else is wrong.

The front desk clerk I am speaking on is name Jennifer (Jen). She is very unprofessional when addressing the CR England students and employees. Several of them have reported her to the suppose to be General Manager only to have nothing done regarding the way she address people.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BEWARE CORPORATE ACCOUNTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IF YOUR LOOKING FOR TRUE CUSTOMER SERVICE THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL TO SEND UR STAFF TO!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The front desk staff and the rooms is the best things about this property. I gave it average marks because the management gives little attention to the fitness room and the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor Wa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

My daughter, granddaughter and I stayed at this Comfort Suites in Waxahachie Texas for 4 nights, April 28th May 2, 2011. We were attending the Scarborough Renaissance Faire and this hotel was 7 miles from the Faire site.

This is a fairly new hotel built within the last 2 years or so and there are already obvious condition problems due to the extremely cheap construction material s and methods used. They used strips of carpet glued to the wall for baseboard and it was peeling and sagging away from the wall in many areas. The paint on the inside walls close to the window in our room was also starting to peel badly. The decorative turret on the top of the building had blown off in a storm several weeks before and all the debris was still lying up against the front of the building.

Despite the 89 degree temperature the pool was not open yet and the pool and hot tub were full of dirty water, algae and pool chairs. Being from Washington State where it rarely gets that hot, we were very disappointed to not be able to use the pool. On our second morning there a hotel employee was using a net trying to get some of the algae out and I was hopeful maybe they were going to clean it but he only spent about 20 minutes and stopped. He also did not put the padlock back on and later that night two boys who looked to be about 7-8 years old were in the pool.
I don’t know where their parents were but I would never have let my young child go to the pool alone or swim in that disgusting soup. When I told the front desk person Dawn about it she immediately went out and told them to leave and found their parents. I also overheard her call the supervisor of the employee who left the pool area unlocked.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful except for the day shift desk person, (wish I had written her name down) a blonde who seemed to have a big chip on her shoulder. Dawn the night shift desk person needed to give her day shift counterpart some lessons in customer service techniques. Dawn was awesome, very welcoming and professional to everyone I heard her speaking to.

Our room was very spacious and clean with very nice bedding, we had a sofa that converted to a bed and two queen beds. There is a small refrigerator and microwave with a coffee pot and hairdryer in the large bath room. The closet is a good size with plenty of hangers and an Iron and ironing board.
The breakfast area was adequate with the usual donuts, muffins, waffles, fruit and cereal, in addition everyday they had a variation of eggs, sausages or biscuits and sausage gravy.
There are two computer terminals in the lobby area with a printer and everyday there is a new pile of complimentary USA today newspapers.
The hotel was very hard to get in and out of easily, it is located on a one way street so if you want to go to a restaurant that is a couple of blocks away you have to drive a mile in a big circle.

One last impression about this hotel is that they are the host hotel for the C.R. England Truck Driving School. People come from all over the country to stay for 2-4 weeks of truck driver training. These trainees congregate in the lobby area, hogging up the computers doing their homework and playing games. They also spend a lot of time standing outside the exit doors smoking. There were a couple of times while I was using the computer to check my email, that I could not help hearing some very loud and profane language. On one occasion there was a family with small children checking in and it was so loud and bad that Dawn chewed them out and asked them to leave the lobby area.

Over all this was an OK home away from home for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Great new hotel! Very clean. Rooms have lots of space. Hotel feels very safe. Microwave, fridge, hair dryer, iron are all included. Beds are very comfortable. Outdoor pool is very nice, but needs more chaise lounges. Staff is over the top helpful, especially John and Steven! I've stayed here several times and will continue to go back. Great value!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Waxahachie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Waxahachie

Address: 131 RVG Plaza, Waxahachie, TX 75165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waxahachie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waxahachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Waxahachie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Waxahachie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Waxahachie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.