We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of texans artifacts, good museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star of the Republic Museum

Star of the Republic Museum
P. O. Box 317, Washington, TX 77880
936-878-2461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Washington
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots of texans artifacts, good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was a good museum. Lots of artifacts, , interesting exhibits, super educational but a little pricey. Definitely a place to take kids 10 and up!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great museum for both adults and children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a lovely architectural building set in the beautiful State park. It is fine for both adults and children. They even have a special discovery room to keep the little ones interested. The displays are set out in a way that everything makes sense. It does help to hear and see the short well produced video first before you tour the exhibition. This was very interesting for us as we are fairly new Texans and did not fully understand the beginnings of our great State. It was not crowded and we found it easy to walk around the area. There is also a very good museum visitors center which you should not miss. Lots of lovely things to buy and see, We understand from the very friendly volunteers that the children's old fashioned wooden toys are a great hit and often sell out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“World Class Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After visiting the Park Visitor's Center and hearing the lecture about the founding of the Republic of Texas, we wondered what could be new in a museum. But, intrigued by the star-shaped building, we entered the museum and were utterly amazed. Not in this country or in Europe have we seen any museum present a story in a better fashion! The displays cover the land, both the indigenous people and each of the groups that after, even including surveyors. That one expects. But each is also featured in a typical home/building from which one can learn culture, arts and crafts, religious, business economy, family life, etc. The most outstanding feature is a long ramp leading to the buildings on the second floor that presents three synchronized time lines beginning in 1492; one of the events in Europe, one in the US, and one in Texas, for any given generation. We have all learned our history in bits and pieces; this puts it all into perspective. Awesome! This is a marvelous jewel of a museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Texas History at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This museum is an excellent presentation of Texas History for all ages. You could easily spend 2 hours here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Keep on learning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Even if my husband's a former Texas History teacher, and we've talked a lot about it, there's always more to learn. It was easy and fun here at the Star of the Republic Museum. The tour comes with a CD recording that guides you through. The exhibits were very clear and well presented, with even some "hands on" things with most of them. The temporary exhibit there right now is really "hands on" since it presents several toys that were available to children early in our state's history. Be sure to allow for at least a couple of hours for the whole museum. We only had time to see the first floor, but we plan to go back later to finish it up!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star of the Republic Museum also viewed

 

Been to Star of the Republic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star of the Republic Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.