We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, Food is Just OK, Best of All Mr. Estes Equine Manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Dos Brisas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn at Dos Brisas to your Saves list
The Inn at Dos Brisas
10000 Champion Drive, Washington, TX 77833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Property, Food is Just OK, Best of All Mr. Estes Equine Manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I were given a 60th birthday present (my 60th not my wife's, she is much younger) for a two day stay at The Inn at Dos Brisas. We found the grounds and property exquisite. The Casitas (Jasmine) we stayed in was beautifully furnished in western decor, very spacious and a patio overlooking the open fields with horses of grander. The food was just "OK" and the service was fine. We expected more from a five star resort on the food.

The most impressive part of our trip and most enjoyable was the time we spent with Mr. Estes, the Equine Manager. We did not take a trail ride nor did we sign-up for any horse lessons. After spending three hours with Mr.Estes both my wife and I said the reason we would return to Dos Brisas is because of Mr.Estes. He makes Dos Brisas a five star resort on his own merit. A true "Cowboy" but even more impressive a true Gentlemen with knowledge on oh so many different facets of life. His stories will entertain you like you have never been entertained before. For those future guests you must take the time to introduce yourselves to Mr. Estes.

Oh yeah, by the way he is also one of thee very best horseman in North America. Just take a look at the attached pictures. My wife and I are horse owners so we do have some knowledge on horsemanship. You will deny yourself an experience of a life time if you don't meet Mr. Estes. Even better, sign-up for a riding lesson and you'll have an experience you'll never forget!!

Joe and Sue Laubenstein

Room Tip: If you stay in a Casitas we would high recommend the Jasmine based on its' view and peaceful sil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived at Dos Brisas for the first three nights of our honeymoon, travelling from home in London. From the first moment we arrived the entire experience was perfection! We were upgraded to a hacienda, which was unbelievably luxurious, well appointed and tastefully decorated as well as enormous! We had our private plunge pool which was amazing, and we were in Equinus which is really close to the horse paddocks - perfect for me as I love horses and horse riding and was out there petting them every morning. We did the dinner package and the food was excellent - five courses but not too big portions, delicately flavoured and really thoughtfully designed and prepared. We did the wine pairings option one night and I recommend it. Breakfast was delivered to our hacienda every morning and it was glorious - fresh pastries, yoghurt, fruit and coffee as a minimum with extra options if you want them.

We went on a trial ride, which was very peaceful and really good fun - the horses were safe and steady without being dozy and dull. My other half has only ridden once before but really enjoyed it and grew in confidence. The next day I took a technical lesson in the enormous purpose built arena, and then did a two hour cutting horse lesson - one of the best experiences of my life! Mr OK Estes is a genuine cowboy and a brilliant teacher, along with his assistants Kathy and Kelly. They brought in a herd of calfs for me to practice cutting and I had huge fun - it is really challenging but worth the hard work when you get it right.

We also had long walks and did some rifle clay shooting, which was really fun and well organised.

Every moment of our stay was perfect, and the staff were always helpful, polite and flexible. We have stayed at various places in Texas and the US, including other ranches, and this place is incomparable.

Take a trip to Brenham one night if you have the time - a great cowboy town.

Room Tip: Choose the Equinus hacienda if you want to be near the horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We celebrated a special birthday at Dos Brisas and could not have been happier with our choice. The Casitas are wonderful. The restaurant service was wonderful and the food was nice. It is not the French Laundry, but much closer to home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I went to Dos Brisas for a 2 night stay to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. This was our second time to stay at this resort. The first time was 3 years ago for my husband's birthday. During our first stay we liked the private casita although fairly small and the bathroom was plain with small tubs and a simple private patio. We liked the western decor, fireplace in the suite and kitchenette stocked with complimentary snacks and drinks and great breakfast with homemade granola, scones and freshly squeezed orange juice. But the highlight of our stay was dining at their 5 star restaurant. The food was French artistic minimalist style with multiple courses with some ingredients from their on site organic garden. They had an extensive wine list and the service was excellent, what one would expect for a 5 star restaurant. We were excited to return again. This time we stayed in one of their newer haciendas and wow it was incredible - a large living room and separate bedroom with fireplaces in both, massive bathroom with huge sunken tub and separate walk in shower. We had our own private soaker pool and screened in porch with the coolest swinging bed! This was a major upgrade from the casita. But the restaurant was a totally different story. It was obvious from the minute we sat down the first evening that it was not the caliber restaurant as before. The service was average and we could tell some waiters were very green which is not to be seen in a true 5 star restaurant. The food was good but not the same level as 3 years ago. The second evening was crowded and clearly they were understaffed. There was no actual sommelier. My husband asked for a bottle of wine and the waiter opened the bottle in the bar instead of at our table, a BIG no no and NOT 5 star service. My husband told the waiter to bring another bottle and open at the table which you could tell made her mad. Then the meal went downhill from there. We had to ask for water and bread. There was a long wait between courses. They did not remove dishes promptly. Also, there was no real quality ambience, some people were casually dressed, we even saw jeans, unlike the first time when people were nicely dressed and men were in jackets. If this resort is going to brag about being the only 5 star restaurant in Texas (hardly) they better back it up and they did not! But they have no problem charging 5 star prices!! So if you go to Dos Brisas we recommend staying in a fabulous hacienda but bring your own food and wine.

Room Tip: Stay in a hacienda instead of a casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston_Foodie, Owner at The Inn at Dos Brisas, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We strive to make every guest experience worthy of your patronage of Dos Brisas. I'm glad you enjoyed your hacienda stay. I'm totally disappointed in your restaurant experience. Due to a last minute illness, our sommelier was unable to work that evening. Other changes in staffing are taking place today. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem our reputation, as the transgressions that you suffered are inexcusable. Kindly contact our General Manager, Andrew Jay, at your earliest convenience, and let's see if we can't entice you to visit us again. This time, on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our fourth time to stay at Dos Brisas this year and we can't seem to get enough of the Inn. The accommodations, food, staff and activities are superb. Zack the head chef is absolutely a genius! He is such a passionate chef who wants to please his patrons. Lisa in charge of the gardens cares for every tender vegetable, herb and fruit she grows with the skill of a mother tending her child. Grace in the bar makes a great cocktail and can sing, too! Ludvick chooses wine with true French precision. Amanda is in charge of accommodations and is so efficient and pleasant. OK Estes and Cathy truly make sure one can have the opportunity to shoot or ride . They know more about horses than any one you will ever meet. They make you feel as if you are welcomed family. It makes one look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: The haciendas are worth every penny ! The private plunge pool and outdoor shower are so refreshing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to be in Banf for my birthday but had to cancel.. So my hubby found this 2 hours from home. Oh my gosh!!!!!! You have to get a hacienda! Private plunge pool, outdoor shower, walk in inside shower, decorated beautifully.... Now lets talk food... They are 80% self sustaining. They grow everything on property. Amazing!!!!!!!!!!! So many incredible flavors that dance so well together you could eat for hours. Staff is pure Texas friendly and can't do enough for you. Whenever we need a small respite we will return again & again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

GO HERE! We had a most wonderful time staying in a Hacienda at Dos Brisas. No detail was overlooked in the accommodations. Every bite was melt-in-your mouth, and the staff is incredibly accommodating. In addition, you're only a short drive from Brenham. When we checked in, Stephanie greeted us and made us a delicious cocktail. Andrew, the GM, is awesome. The stay would not be complete without an activity with "OK" Estes and Cathy. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: HACIENDA! Complete with outdoor shower, butler's pass, private pool and golf cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Dos Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Dos Brisas

Address: 10000 Champion Drive, Washington, TX 77833
Location: United States > Texas > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest of southern hospitality on your serene romantic getaway situated amidst rolling meadows, beneath the big blue skies of the Texas Hill Country at this Relais and Chateaux. After an action-packed day brimming with horseback riding, fishing and clay shooting, or a quiet escape full of yoga, couples’ massages and food and wine classes, guests from both ends of the spectrum come together to dine in the only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star restaurant in Texas. Our renowned restaurant features fresh produce picked just for you from our extensive certified organic gardens and greenhouses. The cuisine is artfully plated and expertly paired with wine from around the world, thanks to our in-house sommelier. Following dinner, stroll back to your opulent casita or hacienda, unwind by the fire or take a dip in your private plunge pool—all while enjoying the postcard-worthy vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Dos Brisas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Dos Brisas Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Dos Brisas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.