We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showed up with a reservation and they didn't have the room I reserved.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waco

Save Saved
You added Hilton Waco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113 South University Parks Drive, Waco, TX 76701-2241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Waco
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Showed up with a reservation and they didn't have the room I reserved.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I arrived Tuesday night with a reservation for two queen beds non-smoking for four nights. The lady at the counter was very sorry and embarrassed that they were sold out of non-smoking rooms and just had one smoking room left. She couldn't assure me she could even get me into one over the next days. I looked in the smoking room and it reeked. I was as if a chain smoker had spent a year holed up in the room. It was late and I was upset and tired. I booked a room on Priceline for my stay at another hotel. I asked the name of the Hilton Manager that would be on duty the next day. His name was Michael.

I wanted to be at the Hilton as our group had reserved a block of rooms and we had meetings at the Hilton. I traveled from New Hampshire to be with these people not a half mile away. This was most upsetting as I made my reservations way in advance.

The next day Michael was able to get me into a non smoking room that was very nice. I had to prepay for my other motel for my entire stay.

I requested a discount from Michael for the extra costs I was incurring. He set me up with some free breakfasts that were quite good. I still was out $180.00. I let him know I would have this review reflect how I was treated and this was all he was willing to do.

The chef at the breakfast buffet was very pleasant and cordial. The fresh berries were outstanding. The buffet was very good. The waitresses were poor. They seemed unable to follow through with the most simple tasks each day. Many things we had to go around back and do ourselves like coffee and to go cups.

The meeting room was nice, clean and well set up. The hotel room was cleaned nicely.

Room service was 45 minutes on a food order. We found that a little slow.

The pool and hot tub were nice.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    80
    34
    23
    16
See reviews for
73
34
14
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I went here on a business trip at the beginning of August with 4 other co-workers. We booked the hotel in May and we were guaranteed non-smoking. However, when we checked in, the front desk said they were all out of non-smoking. None of us smoke, so this was a huge problem for us. However, management was very helpful and took care of the problem right away and we all got non-smoking rooms.

The rooms are very spacious. We stayed in rooms that had two queen size beds in them. We were all very satisfied with the space and cleanliness of the rooms. We all loved the comfort of the bed and pillows!! Our only complaints were that the air conditioning was very loud and the TV did not have very many channels.

We ate at the Hilton Grille for breakfast and it was very affordable and the food was great. The hotel is also adjacent to the Waco Convention Center-where our conference was-so we could walk very easily and there was no rushing around.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the convenience of this hotel and everything it had to offer. Will definitely stay here again if we are ever in Waco.

Room Tip: If you are going for a business, see if they offer a conference or business rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

super convenient location for the triathlon since it opened up right onto the transition area. right on the water with pretty bridges, a park, walking trails. Very clean and new. Nice decor. Good towels and sheets. Comfy bed. Strong/cold AC (imperative in Texas summer). Excellent service. We asked for extra towels at the front desk and by the time we got up to the room, they were already sitting there at the door!
the only downside to this place was the slow elevators.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

After registering, I was called by name by every employee I met for the rest of the week. The executive floor provides more amenities than many much higher price properties at which we have stayed, From a very adequate business center to a hot breakfast and a television lounge with huge screen tv. The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

You can always find a cheaper place to stay in Waco but having rolled the dice once last football season, I won't stay anywhere else from now on.

The Hilton has long been the standard in Waco for good accomodations but I had not been inside the place since a student at Baylor from 1996-2000. When I walked into the lobby last October, I didn't recognize the place. I have to admit, being a nostalgic type I was a bit dissapointed to see that the Sports Bar had been replaced by a new metro lounge type of bar...I guess that's progress but I digress.

The renovations obvious in the lobby carried over into the rooms, where the furnishings looked brand new. Big King bed and furniture you typically see in big city upscale hotels. The bathroom included a granite counter-top and large shower all of which had also obviously been updated.

Without a doubt the best attribute of this hotel is the proximity to some of the best nightlife Waco has to offer. Right across the street are old favorites including Crickets (a bar/restaurant with pool tables and video games), Ninfas, Diamondbacks (restaurant) among others. It is also a short drive to George's (home of the famous Big "O" and local favorite) and not far from Floyd Casey Stadium (home to Baylor football). If you are in town to see a game/meet up with old friends, you can't go wrong with the Hilton. You will pay more but the proximity to good times and a guaranteed level of cleanliness and service makes the price well worth it.

On a sidenote, when we arrived last year for the Kansas game we had mistakenly reseved our room for the day of the game as opposed to the night before. The lobby clerk was extremely helpful and had no problem accomodating us despite the hotel being at capacity.

I hope you find this review helpful and trust me when I say: Don't roll the dice on a cheap motel if you can get reservations at the Hilton...you will not regret it. For reference fee free to read my review of the Super 8, which was the one and only time I rolled the dice and consider it a lesson learned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJMahoney, Rooms Division Director at Hilton Waco, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Good day -

Thank you for the glowing comments regarding your recent stay here at the Hilton Waco. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and are happy to see we were able to anticipate and fulfill all your needs.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have a conference here every few years. I loved the Courtyard Marriott too, but the internet connection stunk so I decided to have us stay at the Hilton Waco. It was a little more expensive but worth it. The only bad difference I found with the Marriott and Hilton was Marriott had a free breakfast. The Hilton had a great pool and hot tub, was very clean, has a coffee shop area with snacks and ice cream, an open bar in the lobby and a restaurant that has an all you can eat great breakfast and the nicest and friendliest staff ever! We had a problem with our Air Conditioner but they bent over backwards trying to help fix the problem and we ended up moving rooms. There were no complaints from us! And it's across the parking lot from lots of restaurants so if you don't have a car, very convenient to get dinner! Ninfa's Mexican and several others. We'll definitely stay here when the next convention comes to Waco. I'd also recommend Brisa's Italian which is a short drive away.

Room Tip: I think every room was great - but a view of the bridge is pretty at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I like Hiltons. Most of the ones I've stayed at have been clean, comfortable & reasonably priced. We needed a place to stay for a night on our drive home from San Antonio to Minnesota. Now, I have no problem paying $130 for a nice room but I just didn't feel like we got our money's worth. No HD channels & the clarity was poor. In the bathroom, it looked like they'd replaced the toilet with a smaller one & instead of putting new tile in around it they just filled the gap in with a dirty looking grout. For $130 I don't want to have a disgusted feeling when I use the bathroom. We ordered 2 10" pizzas from the restaurant & with 2 bottled waters it came to $60!! Could've gotten 2 large pizzas & then some from a pizza joint for that. Plus, the pizza was undercooked & doughy & just not very good at all. On top of everything, for what we pay I don't understand why breakfast isn't free. There are plenty of other fine hotel chains with the same amenities that offer free continental, if not hot breakfasts. I know you have to pay for breakfast at most of Hiltons, but the cost of this one had us opting out of breakfast altogether. The "Zip" check-out via phone didn't work either, we just kept getting a busy signal & a busy signal again when we tried the front desk. After reading my review & thinking about it, I think this will be my last stay at a Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waco

Address: 113 South University Parks Drive, Waco, TX 76701-2241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Waco
#5 Business Hotel in Waco
#7 Family Hotel in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Waco 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Waco is located in the heart of downtown Waco, on the banks of Brazos River. We are connected to the Waco Convention Center via a covered walkway. Our hotel offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space for up to 200 guests. All of our guest rooms have Hilton Sweet Dreams bed and Serenity linen packages, separate sitting areas, flat screen LCD color TV's, working desk and office chair. Complimentary wireless internet access is available throughout the property as well as a 24-hour business center. Workout in the modern fitness center or take a plunge in the outdoor pool. We also have our on-site restaurant, Brazos Grill featuring succulent steaks and innovative Italian cuisine. Our Waco hotel’s Starbucks® Coffee kiosk offers freshly brewed coffee and the Lobby Bar offers evening drinks and bar snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Waco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waco Hotel Waco
Hilton Hotel Waco
Waco Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Waco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.