We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located, Good Handicap Rm, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Waco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Waco to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Waco
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Martin Luther King Blvd, Waco, TX 76704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Waco
Lampasas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located, Good Handicap Rm, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Location:
This motel is conveniently located at IH35 and South Martin Luther King Jr Blvd/Lake Brazos Pkwy, at the Brazos River, which makes it close to Baylor, local museums and downtown Waco. It is accessible from the southbound frontage road of IH35 and from northbound lanes of South Martin Luther King Jr Blvd (heading toward downtown Waco, away from Baylor).

The Room:
We were in their handicap room with a king bed, a non-smoking room. (They also have a handicap room with two double beds, which may have been next to ours.) There are two reserved parking spaces together, one being in front of our door. The spaces are not much wider than regular parking spaces. Our room was clean and may have had fairly new carpet and fresh paint (except for door frames). The only problem with odor is mentioned below, under “The Bad.” The refrigerator was a two door, with a separate freezer. It was obviously several years old, but worked just fine, as did the microwave and TV. There was plenty of room on both sides of the very comfortable bed and in the bathroom – I think someone in a regular-size wheelchair would not have too many problems in this room. The only chair provided was an executive-type desk chair with wheels. The bathroom had a separate bath bench that could be placed in the tub, if needed. We used it for extra seating when some friends stopped by to visit. The bathroom door is a pocket door, which was a nice touch I've not seen anywhere else. The wireless service worked great, but is unprotected. There was highway noise, but it wasn't bad and was mostly drowned out by the AC unit.

The Service:
Service was great. I had forgotten to ask for extra sheets (needed for my son), and didn't remember until around 10pm. The staff member that assisted with this need was polite and friendly, even at that late hour. Their complementary breakfast was served from 7:30-10:30am. Breakfast Saturday morning was fruit, muffins, breakfast burritos, bread (toaster provided), and two types of flake cereals. Also, milk and coffee. There was also margarine and jelly for the toast, but no knives for spreading. Otherwise, they had everything needed. Considering the very reasonable room rates, this breakfast was quite sufficient.

The Bad:
- The parking space may not be wide enough for someone in a wheelchair.
- As someone else noted, the coffee decanter in the breakfast room appeared to not have been washed in quite some time.
- The TV remote didn't work. It didn't bother us, so I didn't report it to the office until we checked out.
- The light over the toilet and tub also has a fan that comes on when it is turned on – the fan makes the room smell sour. We didn't use that light. Otherwise, the room smelled fine.
- Temporary: construction going on very near the motel creating access road bridges across the river along I35, plus construction of a new stadium for Baylor university. More on that here: [--]

None of “the bad” things bothered us – but some people might want to know. The Victorian Inns Waco was a very nice place to stay at a very reasonable price. We would stay there again. I posted seven pictures - hope they are helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpatel08, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Calichiranch, The Victorian Inns Waco would like to take the time to say Thank You for choosing us as your choice of hospitality stay during your duration in Waco, Texas. We are glad your stay was satisfactory and hope each stay becomes better and better. We are already working on the issues you had concerns with to ensure all guest have satisfactory stay! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you, The Victorian Inns Waco Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I highly recommend this motel. The breakfast wasn't much but that's not too important to me. As long as I get fed something, then that's fine. The bed was so soft and comfy. I slept from around 9 pm to 9 am and still could have stayed in that bed longer. And a very affordable price. Very friendly people also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpatel08, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Wendy D, The Victorian Inns Waco would like to thank you for choosing us as your choice of hospitality stay during your duration in Waco. We are pleased to know your stay was satisfactory and would like to thank you for providing feedback about your stay. The staff will continue to work hard to ensure all guest stays are beyond satisfactory. We hope to see you again if your traveling through Waco and feel free just to stop by just to say hello!

Thank you - Victorian Inns Waco Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff is pleasant; however, the rooms are untidy. The rooms need renovating and the rooms smell of smoke. My room could use a really good disinfectant and the coffee pot looked as if it had not been cleaned in a while. The person that cleaned the room did not replenish cups and probably cleaned the room in about 10 minutes from the way she made the bed.The breakfast was substandard even for a continental breakfast. I was disappointed in the hotel. Small bathrooms and horrible furnishings. I would not stay here again unless all other rooms are booked in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms are all close to hwy. My non-smoking room smelled like smoke anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpatel08, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Amenet, The Victorian Inns Waco is truly sorry for your non-satisfactory stay with us during your duration in Waco. We are looking into your stay, and have notified all staff members to make sure all issues be corrected for current and future guest. We also appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback for your stay with us as any feedback is beneficially for us. If you have any other concerns or questions please call us directly at (254) 752-3388 and ask to speak with Ross directly.

- Thank you, Victorian Inns Waco Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

No complaints about the room or the wonderful couple running the one we stayed in recently. My compaint is with the home office in Florida. The rooms were quoted from $55 to $75 a night. We stayed four nights. Two other family members stayed in the same place. They paid the lowest rate and yet we were charged almost double each night...suppose to be the same rate. When I complained I was told since my credit card was already billed it was too late for an adjustment...really?
Just make sure you check the charges before you pay. Lesson learned for me.
We won't stay there again.

CH from Ca.

Room Tip: Still ticked at the way we were dismissed when we complained we were charged almost double what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpatel08, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Charlie H, the Victorian Inns Waco would like to take the time to say thank you for choosing us as your choice of lodging service. We are extremely sorry that you had billing issue during your duration in Waco and are personally looking into folio. We do believe this may be related to third party booking service and are more than willing to assist you with billing questions. Please feel free to contact us at 254-752-3388 and ask for Ross to assist you! Thank you once again for providing great feedback!

Thank you - The Victorian Inns Waco staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Definitely got more than I expected for the price, rooms seemed recently redone which provided a good stay! Bed comfort was great but new fluffier pillows would be nice. The breakfast was good for a lite bite and coffee, wouldn't mind staying here again if I'm in Waco!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tpatel08, Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Blake S, The Victorian Inns Waco would like to say thank you for posting a review for your prior stay! The staff is continuing to work hard so guest can have a enjoyable and stress free stay! We have noted the pillow issue and will resolve it in a timely manner. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you, The Victorian Inns Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was very skeptical about this hotel. My husband found it on trip advisor as we were pulling into Waco. With only 4 reviews I wasn't convinced... Even though they were all good reviews. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised! The service was great and the noise wasn't bothersome ... Other then the twin crickets we played hide and seek with until we got them out the door! Definitely worth the low price we payed for an overnight... Also we are 8 minutes from the zoo! Awesome!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear TravellinTexasMom, the Victorian Inns Waco would like to thank you for your Tripadvisor contribution. We are excited that you were satisfied with your stay, as we are continuously working to ensure all guest stay are satisfactory! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks!

- Victorian Inns Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Pleasant stay when I'm in waco! Good prices and clean rooms! Breakfast could be better but I can't complain!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Red Roof Inn Waco, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Yuang Y, the staff at Victorian Inns Waco would like to take the time to say thank you for your review contribution. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to continue providing exceptional service to our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks!

- Victorian Inns Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Waco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Waco

Address: 720 Martin Luther King Blvd, Waco, TX 76704
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Waco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Waco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Waco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.