We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D's Mediterranean Grill

D's Mediterranean Grill
1503 Colcord Ave, Waco, TX 76707-2243 (Formerly D's Chicken Delight)
254-754-6709
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 309 Restaurants in Waco
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Greek, Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Waco, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This place has the BEST food I've had while in Waco. Parking can be a problem and sometimes it takes awhile to get the food, but it is definitely worth the wait. :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great gyros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Med. Grill is a great place for fast Greek food. The gyros are excellent, but the salads and houmus run a close second. Fr4esh vegetables characterize the food and the meat for the gyros is good enough to eat by itself. Parking can be a problem and the restaurant is small. But any wait is worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unexecpted in Waco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was looking for a new place in Waco and read reviews about this place. It is definitely off the beaten path for the traveler passing through Waco, but worth the stop. The neighborhood might leave some feeling a bit uneasy, but when you go during the day it removes some of the nervousness.

The building itself is not elaborate and when you walk in you might wonder what kind of experience you are in for. I had they gyro platter with tabouli and hummus. The meat was good and I've found that meat from one Mediterranean restaurant to another doesn't change much. However, the sides and desserts are what make the difference. Both the tabouli and hummus were excellent!! They were flavorful and moist which was very nice. Many years ago I had a family member who went to Greece and learned to cook baklava from a family there. The recipe and the knowledge has been lost so I've been on a search for 15 years. I finally found what baklava should taste like ... moist, sweet, fully of nutty goodness ... not dry and pasty like most restaurants I've been to ... WOW!!!!

The service is the major downfall. When I arrived a woman was in front of me placing her order. In the middle of her order the phone rang and the woman at the front counter immediately switched her attention to the phone. ?!?!??!?! Leaving the poor woman in mid order. Once off the phone the woman at the front counter picked up with the in person customer. WOW ... not what I'd expect from any restaurant. I learned quickly and as soon as I stepped up I blurted out my order and not a minute to soon. She took my order, swiped my credit card and then the phone rang ... and I no longer had her attention. She never got me to sign the slip or even got back to me after the call. I decided I'd just go find a seat and see how the food was ... luckily it was worth the poor service!!

Summary - Go there for the food, but keep expectations lows about the neighborhood and the service :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food is amazing, fresh, healthy. The pita chips are delicious. The restaurant is super clean, the atmosphere is not why you go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little culture in Waco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great variety of Mediterranean dishes with good flavor. It's a little crowded during lunch time but the food and price is good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to D's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D's Mediterranean Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.