We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best TexMex in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant

Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant
215 Mary Ave, Waco, TX 76701-2233
254-757-2050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 311 Restaurants in Waco
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Walsall
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best TexMex in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ninfa’s is generally regarded as the best TexMex place in town. The place has a great atmosphere, being converted from an old barn. Its popularity makes it somewhat noisy, so it is best to find an alcove if possible, if conversation is a priority.

Unfortunately, there was only one vegetarian option – vegetable fajitas – although this was excellent. Helpings are somewhat enormous: we would have settled for much less, but this seems fairly typical in Texas. We managed to leave room for sopaillas as an afters: this was quite light, and really delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    31
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The fajitas were awesome and I loved the green salsa. The margaritas were awesome too and I enjoyed the lively atmosphere. Plan to visit again when in Waco.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, little loud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great atmosphere and the food was awesome. Only complaint by our family was that it was pretty loud. Otherwise EVERYONE enjoyed this from 5 y/o to 60 y/o

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,TX
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Busy Place.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

As usual, Ninfas had very good food. It was a Friday night, and very busy, but I felt our service was lacking. We had to ask for everything 2 or 3 times.....and service was very slow. It is a very nice location

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Love Ninfa's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Even though there are other good restaurants in Waco, we always end up at Ninfa's...Love their Pechuga Alfonso1

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ninfa's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.