We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dichotomy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits
508 Austin Ave, Waco, TX 76701
(254) 714-1710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Waco
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Dichotomy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Although named in this manner as a coffee and spirits bar, I think the true name is this place and the rest of Waco. I'm not sure that the town can support a place of this caliber (and for spirits, price) but I hope so as the staff was friendly and the drinks creative.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A rare place for Waco - clean, hip, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was surprised to find this place in Waco. This is a cock-tale bar/coffee shop which is why they call it Dichotomy (two different things together). The location has bike racks inside (super uncommon), has an outside area that isn't bad, and literally has the cleanest and most well done insides of any coffee shop or even bar that I've been to in Waco. You won't be even the slightest bit afraid of what you'll find in the bathroom. This place is filled mostly with college age people and appears to be a great place to hang out and study.

I didn't give it 5 stars because I thought the ordering of coffee was a bit haphazard and it wasn't really clear whose order was just finished. Additionally there wasn't any designated pick up location for the order nor obvious who even made the drink just ordered since someone different was at the register and making drinks every few seconds. I also thought our seats were unstable and uncomfortably wobbly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Won't find a better Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Best coffee in town. Very unique and hip. You can have espresso and alcohol at the same bar, or for variety among friends. The staff are very helpful and friendly. This is a MUST check out place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Combo of Coffee House and Bar in Downtown Waco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dichotomy used to be simply a great coffee house in an art gallery in downtown Waco, and now they have moved into their own spot down the street and combined a coffee house and bar to create a fun place to hang out day or night. The bartender was very good at mixology while we were there, and my wine was passable, though I hope they get a more extensive wine list later. With a second floor, it is a great place to go downtown.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dichotomy Coffee & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.