We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Homestead

Cafe Homestead
608 Dry Creek Rd., Waco, TX
254-754-9604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 311 Restaurants in Waco
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Barbecue, Israeli, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Description: At Cafe Homestead you won't find many products made by people we've never met in places we've never heard of or been to. The majority of the meat and produce we use comes from the herds and gardens of people we live and work with on a daily basis.Cafe Homestead partners with local and organic sources to provide our guests with the highest quality dining experience!Offering great tasting, sustainable, natural meals and catering in Waco, Texas.
Cedar Park, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Delicious! We are so thrilled to have found this place and now family favorite. Our kids enjoyed drinking Creme Sodas from the front porch while waiting on the food! The burger was the best I've had in a long time! The nachos were a huge order. We will definitely stop in on our trips through Waco.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderfully special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had lunch here with family from Minnesota and we all loved it. The service is special and caring and the special of the day is truly special and good! Three of us had the daily special of a veggie focaccia sandwich and the jalapeno sweet potato soup. The soup is wonderful and the sandwich was perfect for a healthy lunch. Others ordered burgers that were hearty and good. The menu is simple but variable enough for everyone to have a great lunch. Then after the meal we all enjoyed shopping and visiting the craft village that is next to the Cafe. The crafts are exquisite and the people are wonderfully kind and answered all our questions. We learned a lot and appreciate the lifestyle they enjoy so well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Looking for the perfect light lunch plus some special desserts? Enjoy the wonderful country setting including a store full of handcrafts made at Homestead Heritage on the northwest edge of Waco. Open 7:00 am to 6:00 pm for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerekVarejcka, General Manager at Cafe Homestead, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I wanted to say thank you from all of us at Cafe Homestead for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I also would like to ask what you feel we could do better to make your experience a five star experience. Your response would be kindly appreciated.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Derek Varejcka
254-366-0323
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Mott, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This little Cafe is not far off I35 and well worth the short side-track it if traveling through Waco. You will not find a better place to stop and have lunch. The food and service are excellent. Their monthly Farm to Table dinners are unbelievable. February's meal was wonderful, and the surrey ride was extra special! Thank you Derek, Jim and the Homestead staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Homestead Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just had lunch at Cafe Homestead. We ordered salads and they were fresh and delicious. We could only eat half of them and asked for a to-go box. We were then told we could have ordered half a salad. Recommend you do this and order soup with it. I've never had a bad experience here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.