We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's on the Square - CLOSED

Sam's on the Square
330 Austin Avenue, Waco, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is a jewel in the Downtown Waco area. I recommend the street tacos. I chose the Korean short rib and brisket tacos.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to visit at lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice menu and great place to entertain a client or guest at lunch. We were able to pick our table and drink order was taken right away. Nice decor and no loud music, tvs or crowds. Service is a bit slow each time Ive been there. Both burrito and nacho bowls have good taste. Big portions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loud but it is college place but the food is worth it for this boomer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are boomers but love Sams. Great energy from the college crowd but Baylor students are the best. Inventive Mexican food menu. When it gets too loud we go out on Patio.
Service probably suffers during large crowd times
We will go again and again for cold beer and great food

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tacos and Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very good Tex-Mex. The tacos were excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't have the opportunity to eat there more than once to check out the variety.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Interesting Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

In the last few years of visiting Waco, Sam's on the Square has been a favorite repeat dining spot. It is located in the very nice walking area just a block from the convention center and the courthouse. The restaurant offers outdoor seating, as well as glass "garage door" roll up walls for nice days. The menu features a number of unusual takes on bar food, including interesting and fresh appetizers, salads, and tacos (the brisket taco is a favorite.) Great desserts, too. It is a fun, lively spot when Baylor is in session. As others have mentioned, the service can be really shaky. If you are particular about this, don't go. If, however, you want to hang out in a nice a place with fun food and atmosphere, I recommend it. Also enjoy it for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's on the Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's on the Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.