We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarion Inn Near Baylor University to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good hotel with good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I stayed here for three nights in June and had a good experience for the most part. I did the priceline thing and ended up getting it for $38/night. I was also given a free upgrade to a larger atrium-facing room. This hotel has a great location. Right across the street from Baylor, and close to downtown. The room was comfortable and quiet. While there was a golf camp in residence at the time, I wasn't bothered by any noise from the kids. The room was slightly outdated, but well appointed. Mini-fridge, microwave and safe were included. My king bed room also came with a desk and easy chair with ottoman. I always slept too late for breakfast there (it ends at 9) so I didn't get to try it. I did stop in at the bar once and enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly bartender. I had an issue upon checking out where they tried to charge me $125 for my dog being there one night. Most of that was eventually reversed, but it was still somewhat of a headache. I also never heard about any complaints until I checked out. Note: only the outdoor facing rooms are pet friendly, not the indoor, atrium-facing rooms. All in all I had a good experience and got the room at a great value!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Clarion Waco. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We are a one of a kind hotel with our indoor atrium and pool. Add this to our Restaurant & Bar, game area and guest room amenities and we certainly provide a wonderful value. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    23
    17
    25
See reviews for
65
13
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Enjoyed the hotel. Great location to Baylor University. Hot breakfast was great.
Check in and check was fast and efficient. Only negative was the room and the large atrium area seemed very humid and warm. A/C in room struggled to stay cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
We are thrilled you had the opportunity to stay with us while visiting Baylor University. Since we are located just across I-35 from BU, our location is certainly ideal for those attending or visiting the university. We look forward to having you and your family with us again for future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hotel was older, but clean. The room was basic, but I was shocked to see a refrigerator and microwave in it. Lindsay at the front desk was very prompt and professional. She provided excellent customer service and was extremely polite. I would definitely stay at a Clarion hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
We appreciate your comments and thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. All of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and along with our indoor heated pool, restaurant & bar and superior service, we are a hotel to treasure in Waco. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had our daughter's wedding reception at the Clarion Inn in Waco, TX. The food and meeting space were wonderful. Margarita and Heather were amazing to work with. They did the work for me, and I was able to just go and have a good time. Our friends and relatives remarked about how well the reception went....no problems, and the food was great.

Thanks, ladies, for helping make this momentous occasion was wonderful for us!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We received excellent services from the hotel staff members. We stayed at the hotel for one night, to take our daughter to Baylor University. After we checked out the next day, we found that our car was not starting. The lady at the front desk was very helpful. Then another staff member, Anthony came and tried to jump start the car. When it failed he gave us a ride to the university. later, he offered and tried to find a mechanic for us. After several attempts the car started and we drove off to Houston without any problems. It is employees like Anthony that makes Clarion a special place to stay. We sincerely appreciate the help and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The room was clean and the food was good.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Waco and giving us the opportunity to have you at our hotel. You are right and we completely agree, employees like Anthony is what it is all about, thank you for sharing your experience. We are so happy you made it back to Houston and look forwward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is our second stay at this hotel and we really like it. Rooms are nice not luxurious but very nice and comfortable. Everyone is friendly and willing to help you. The pool is great, indoors, heated, our children really like it.
The only bad thing is the first time we stay we got a super nice breakfast which we thought was included. It turns out that some one made a mistake and they forgot to charge us, breakfast is in fact very poor, the nice options (hot food) cost you five dollars extra.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Atrium and indoor heated pool. We are the only hotel in Waco with this amenity and because of this many families form very special memories while staying at our hotel. Additionally, our breakfast buffet provides a wonderful assortment of options for all travelers including a complimentary continental breakfast which is normally not offered at a full service hotel as well as the full breakfast buffet for just $5. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

overall stay was ok

Started out that the pool was out of order and was one of the reasons we wanted to stay there as the artium and pool were suppose to be great for hanging out and swimming almost left but was of it very tired and didnt want to look elsewhere and the rest of our group decided to stay
moderate rate of 69 was the why we stayed anyway
1st room assignment was outside keys didnt work UUUGHHH
felt safer with changing us to an inside room near the pools and atrium area
great location but if you want to sleep forget it
un supervised kids were runnning up and dowm the atrium pool area till past 130 so I got no sleep shower heads not strong but ok
rooms were clean A/C was cold and worked great rooms had mini frig and micro wave and close to Baylor

Breakfast good and free with room

Will probaly stay again cheap and clean ask for a newer up graded room inside the building didnt feel safe outside no elevater if you have lots of luggage coolers and such so stay on bottom floor if you do

will just have to take something to sleep next time other wise ok

this place is not fancy

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. The Clarion Hotel Waco is a prime location for family and children with our indoor atrium and pool. Along with being near Baylor University we are one of a kind hotel in our area with superior service and amenities of a full service hotel. We look forward to your return and are confident you will enjoy your stay in one of our Atrium facing rooms or one of our Executive rooms with two queens, first floor that includes a patio door to the Atrium - very ideal for relaxing and enjoying your time while here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Near Baylor University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Address: 801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Near Baylor University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn Near Baylor University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University Hotel Waco
Clarion Hotel Waco
Clarion Waco
Waco Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.