We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but don't expect to get any rest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarion Inn Near Baylor University to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but don't expect to get any rest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My first impression of the "hotel" (and I agree with 766SusanB - it is not a hotel, but a motel) was very good. Our non-smoking room was spacious, well-furnished, very clean and smelled fresh and smoke-free. The back windows faced a beautiful courtyard in the center of which is a nice pool. When I laid down for a nap at 5:00 p.m. to rest up for the night's activities I was immediately treated to a loud pool party by a bunch of high school kids. No rest that evening. When we returned for the night it was quiet, but not for long. At 7:30 we were awakened by the slamming of doors in adjacent rooms. At 8:09 housekeeping opened our door and tried to enter, and after I loudly ran them off they came back at 9:00! It was as though they were trying to make us leave so they could get their day over. Needless to say we did leave, and will never return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, and your kind compliments about the cleanliness and fresh smell of your room. We also appreciate the compliments about our tropical atrium and indoor heated pool. We apologize that your room was close to our teen sport group. We ask that our group guests be respectful of our other hotel guests, but kids can unintentionally be noisy when they are excited to be in a new place, and rushing to jump in the pool. Your room faced the atrium where the pool is located, but we also have rooms in our executive wing that may meet your needs better. These roooms are interior corridor, spacious, and open to a quiet hallway corridor. We would be happy to book your next stay in one of these rooms. We apologize for the room attendants visiting your room after you requested that they leave. We offer door hanging signs in all guest rooms to place on your door handle that tell our housekeepers to not disturb you. We apologize that this was not brought to your attention when you asked them to leave. Please allow us the opportunity to improve your impression of our hotel. Our staff values your business, and would greatly appreciate the chance to host your next stay in Waco. We hope you will consider returning.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    23
    17
    25
See reviews for
65
13
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel is old and ran down. Management was rude and unhelpful. My friend had another guest enter his room late at night. Desk clerk was appologetic, but management did not care. I will not stay at the Clarion again. Next time I will pick one of the nicer hotels in Waco like the Quality or Comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We regret that you have a bad impression of our hotel and managment staff. Our guest's satisfaction and safety is our top priority, and we are taking your review very seriously. We take extra precautions daily to prevent any guest safety issues, and welcome guest's input on our customer service. We have always taken great pride in our guest service scores. We work very hard to maintain them. Our General Manager's cell phone is available at the front desk 24 hours per day to all of our valued guests. We welcome you to call her any time with questions, concerns, or issues at the hotel if she is not available in person to speak with you. We are committed to guest's satisfaction, and always welcome feedback. Good or bad, there is always an opportunity to improve. We hope you will give us another opportunity to change your impression of us. Thanks again for your review.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am very upset with the room we got. Nowhere does the website say most rooms open directly to the outside. In fact it specifically states "interior corridor". This is a MOTEL. We were at the end by metal stairs and every step every person made on those steps clanged loudly in our room. Not to mention everyone walking by talking with their "outside" voices and the noise of their steps on the hollow concrete walkway. I did not feel safe at all. And all the noise stated previously along with the traffic noise kept me up until after 2:00 a.m. When we went into the atrium lobby featured on the website the next morning, it smelled so moldy my 18 year old son refused to eat the breakfast even though it was free as we are a rewards member. I was already ready to get out of there so we left immediately. Never again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of the Clarion Hotel in Waco, TX. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. You were booked in one of our exterior entry rooms. About 50 of our rooms are exterior entry, and the remainder of the 148 sleeping rooms are interior corridor rooms facing our tropical atrium with our indoor heated pool. We apologize for the noise you experienced, as we had large student groups staying in the hotel that left early the morning of your departure. We ask that our group guests try to respect other guests, but we are unable to guarantee that they do so every time. We apologize for the smell of the atrium. That space is shared with our swimming pool, and when we are cleaning it, and putting more chemicals in to keep it clean and sparkling for guests; the smell can be strong. We have the perfect rooms for you and your family in our executive wing. This section of the hotel has all interior rooms, and does not open to the atrium. We are able to offer several different room types to meet individual guest's needs. We are able to offer double queen and king rooms in the executive wing that are spacious, and away from the exterior and atrium area. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host your stay in one of these rooms next time you are in Waco. We are confident that we can improve your impression of us. Thanks again for your review. We value your business and your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

At 4 in the morning I had another guest enter my room. The hotel booked my room twice. The front desk seemed not to care and stated it was not the first time. I left early that morning and the mánager called. She seemed to think it was no big issue. The room was dirty and smelled

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize for the issue that you had during your stay. This was a very unfortunate mistake on our part, and we take full responsibility. We have taken this incident very seriously. Extra precautions have been put in place to prevent this type of incident from happening again. Our guest's safety is our first priority, and we regret very much that you did not get that impression. We hope you will give us the opportunity to prove that to you in the future if you return to Waco, TX. Thank you again for your review.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

like the fact that you could pull right up to your hotel room door.my fridge however did not work in my room, but I was too tired after checking in to go have it taken care of.I did let them know upon leaving.you do however hear the traffic on the interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our exterior rooms. We offer both interior and exterior guest rooms to our guests according to your preference. We apologize about your refrigerator in your room not working. Thank you for kindly informing us of this. Our maintenance staff is taking care of repairing that today so that our next guest will have a working refrigerator. We are a convenient hotel for interstate 35 travelers, as we are right next to it. We regret that the traffic is sometimes noisy for our guests in exterior rooms. We hope that your overall stay with us was great. We also would like to invite you to visit us again in the future when you come back to the Waco area. Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Didn't know what to expect after reading the mixed reviews and was prepared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been extensively remodeled, making the hotel a solid value.

This is a conveniently located hotel close to the I35 near Baylor. You can tell that, when new, this must have been a near luxury hotel with an interesting atrium in the center with a decent pool, nice seating, and a quaint bar. Not the typical suite hotel. Rooms have been recently remodeled with excellent materials including granite sinks and high quality surfaces. Bed was fine. Sheets and bedding were slightly subpar (typical sheet with spongey blanket and polyester duvet). My only complaint is that as a priceline customer I was limited to the continental breakfast and had to stare at everyone eating their bacon, eggs and waffles. No problems at all with the service or the cleanliness of the room. Walls are thin, but I always bring earplugs so no issues. All in all, a good value and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your stay while you visited Waco, TX. We are glad that you noticed our close proximity to Baylor University. We are now the closest hotel to the university. It is so refreshing to hear a guest has enjoyed their experience at the Clarion Hotel. We strive for all of our guests to enjoy our great lounge with delicious dinner options, and great drinks. We love to see people sitting around the heated indoor pool while their little ones splash around. Thanks for noticing the upgrades we have done in the rooms. The granite counter tops do add a nice touch to the bathrooms, and the flat screen TV's are great for catching your favorite shows when you are away from home. We hope that next time you come you will enjoy our full hot breakfast. It is delicious, and we know you would have enjoyed it! Thanks again for your kind comments about the hotel, and we hope to see you soon on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The young man at the front desk assured us there would be no issues in the back of the hotel DO NOT STAY HERE.

We asked at the desk and from our room to move and were curtly told nothing was available. It was a quiet Thursday night! The trucks and buses rolled in til midnight and started warming up at 6 am leaving engines running.

Carpets and corridors were grungy and the business office was closed due to broken equipment.

Do not eat the breakfast the Hoyt option was cold.

I imagine the guests who stays in the interior rooms around the pleasant advertised atrium may have a better experience but this family will never return to a Clarion again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our property. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the noise from vehicles. We host a great number of school and tour groups at our hotel. The parking for those buses is along our back fence where your room was located. We regret that the interior rooms were sold out preventing us from moving you to an interior room for your stay. We would gladly have offered to move you if we had one available. We replaced our entire corridor carpeting last summer so we will be sure to investigate your comment regarding it being dirty. Cleanliness is a top priority for our hotel, and we take it very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host your stay in Waco, TX in one of our interior rooms where you can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep, and we will serve your family a delicious hot breakfast in the morning to start your day off right. Thanks again for your review of the Clarion Hotel. We take guest reviews seriously, and use them as a valuable learning tool.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Near Baylor University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Address: 801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Near Baylor University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn Near Baylor University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University Hotel Waco
Clarion Hotel Waco
Clarion Waco
Waco Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.