We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“conveniently located right off Interstate 35” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn Near Baylor University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Waco
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“conveniently located right off Interstate 35”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

like the fact that you could pull right up to your hotel room door.my fridge however did not work in my room, but I was too tired after checking in to go have it taken care of.I did let them know upon leaving.you do however hear the traffic on the interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our exterior rooms. We offer both interior and exterior guest rooms to our guests according to your preference. We apologize about your refrigerator in your room not working. Thank you for kindly informing us of this. Our maintenance staff is taking care of repairing that today so that our next guest will have a working refrigerator. We are a convenient hotel for interstate 35 travelers, as we are right next to it. We regret that the traffic is sometimes noisy for our guests in exterior rooms. We hope that your overall stay with us was great. We also would like to invite you to visit us again in the future when you come back to the Waco area. Your review of our hotel is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    22
    17
    25
See reviews for
63
13
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Didn't know what to expect after reading the mixed reviews and was prepared for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been extensively remodeled, making the hotel a solid value.

This is a conveniently located hotel close to the I35 near Baylor. You can tell that, when new, this must have been a near luxury hotel with an interesting atrium in the center with a decent pool, nice seating, and a quaint bar. Not the typical suite hotel. Rooms have been recently remodeled with excellent materials including granite sinks and high quality surfaces. Bed was fine. Sheets and bedding were slightly subpar (typical sheet with spongey blanket and polyester duvet). My only complaint is that as a priceline customer I was limited to the continental breakfast and had to stare at everyone eating their bacon, eggs and waffles. No problems at all with the service or the cleanliness of the room. Walls are thin, but I always bring earplugs so no issues. All in all, a good value and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your stay while you visited Waco, TX. We are glad that you noticed our close proximity to Baylor University. We are now the closest hotel to the university. It is so refreshing to hear a guest has enjoyed their experience at the Clarion Hotel. We strive for all of our guests to enjoy our great lounge with delicious dinner options, and great drinks. We love to see people sitting around the heated indoor pool while their little ones splash around. Thanks for noticing the upgrades we have done in the rooms. The granite counter tops do add a nice touch to the bathrooms, and the flat screen TV's are great for catching your favorite shows when you are away from home. We hope that next time you come you will enjoy our full hot breakfast. It is delicious, and we know you would have enjoyed it! Thanks again for your kind comments about the hotel, and we hope to see you soon on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The young man at the front desk assured us there would be no issues in the back of the hotel DO NOT STAY HERE.

We asked at the desk and from our room to move and were curtly told nothing was available. It was a quiet Thursday night! The trucks and buses rolled in til midnight and started warming up at 6 am leaving engines running.

Carpets and corridors were grungy and the business office was closed due to broken equipment.

Do not eat the breakfast the Hoyt option was cold.

I imagine the guests who stays in the interior rooms around the pleasant advertised atrium may have a better experience but this family will never return to a Clarion again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our property. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the noise from vehicles. We host a great number of school and tour groups at our hotel. The parking for those buses is along our back fence where your room was located. We regret that the interior rooms were sold out preventing us from moving you to an interior room for your stay. We would gladly have offered to move you if we had one available. We replaced our entire corridor carpeting last summer so we will be sure to investigate your comment regarding it being dirty. Cleanliness is a top priority for our hotel, and we take it very seriously. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to host your stay in Waco, TX in one of our interior rooms where you can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep, and we will serve your family a delicious hot breakfast in the morning to start your day off right. Thanks again for your review of the Clarion Hotel. We take guest reviews seriously, and use them as a valuable learning tool.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This property is well priced and located close to Baylor - those are definite pluses. Don't be surprised though - the property is older, and the smell of chlorine from the pool hits you when you walk into the lobby.

The rooms are okay, beds are comfortable. The ventilation system in the room is adequate - our room smelled strongly of stale cigarettes upon arrival, but it cleared some when we got the a/c going.

The breakfast that was offered was okay for the price - nothing special, but convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were happy to learn that you felt our hotel was a good value to you when you stayed with us. We had hoped to have made a better first impression with you. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations, and we regret that we fell short of doing so for you during your stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can show you how great we can be. It seemed as if you may have been placed in a room where a previous guest smoked. We make a great effort to remove the smell of smoke from rooms when we have that issue. Unfortunately, that particular odor can be hard to remove. If there are comparable rooms available, we prefer to move a nonsmoking guest to a room that does not have a smoke odor. We hope you will come back to enjoy our full hot breakfast again. It sounds like this was a day where we were not at our best, and we would like you to enjoy our delicious hot breakfast at its very best, and the excellent service we provide in our tropical atrium. We do have a heated indoor pool, and we were sorry to hear that the chlorine smell was strong on the day of your visit. There are times that it requires extra chemical to keep it clean, clear and sparkling for our guests. Please give us the opportunity to make your stay a great one on your next visit to Waco, TX. We value your business, and your review of our property.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is everything expected and more. Comfortable clean rooms. Fresh made breakfast weekdays is very nice. The restraunt was exceptional service with Jose!! He made the whole trip lovely with his friendly service. The Atrium is a relaxing enviroment to sit and read.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and it is so rewarding when a guest lets us know that we have achieved that. We appreciate your business, and look forward to hosting your next stay in Waco, TX.

Warm Regards,

Monica Salter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we booked our hotel through HOTWIRE, we were excited when we found out we were going to the Clarion. This hotel let me down in many ways!

1. The comforters were extremely old looking and uncomfortable.
2. There was a dead cricket and TWO dead roaches under the air conditioner.
3. The wireless internet is very poor and i hardly got any good reception.
4. The room service opened our door TWICE even with the DND sign on the door and informing the front desk already of our slightly late check out.
5. The phone did not work in our room when we arrived. It took maintenance 1 hr to get there.

I could go on but i think that's enough said!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about our property. We want you to know that we take all guest comments very seriously. Please know that all of your concerns have been addressed. We are currently in the process of remodeling our hotel. The comforter on your bed was older, and is being replaced with our new comforters that will be placed in all of our guest rooms. We are replacing guest room telephones throughout the hotel as needed also. We apologize that yours was not working, and that our maintenance staff was delayed in taking care of this issue for you. As for the dead bugs under the air conditioner, we have pest control spray regularly in our rooms to prevent pest problems. In the rare event that there are pests, and there are remains, we make a great effort to clean it up so guests are not effected by it. We apologize that we were unsuccessful in doing so for your room. Please know that our housekeepers were very apologetic about disturbing you while you were in your room on your date of departure. We never like our guests to feel as if we are pushing you out. They wanted to make sure that your room was cleaned and fresh for you for another night, or for the next guest that would be staying in it. Guest service is our number one priority, and we would appreciate the opportunity of proving this to you. Please allow us another chance to show you how great our hotel and service really is.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

First of all, we were very skeptical about the part of town the hotel was located. Seedy looking guy hanging out around the parking lot. We even moved our vehicle at night to right outside the front desk because it just felt shady there. The room was no better than what we thought it would be. Nothing modern, all the linens were thin, hard, and very bottom of the line. Our room had a mini fridge, but had some food in it from previous guests, GROSS! we can't comment on the breakfast because we high-tailed it out of there at sunrise. Got this room through Priceline, they should have this hotel listed as a 1 star.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We certainly wish that you would have informed us during your stay if you were concerned with the security. We do not like for our guests to feel unsafe during their stay. You will be happy to hear that all of our Priceline guests are now booked in interior rooms in the hotel. We are a downtown hotel, but we take great strides in security by having our staff walk the property constantly, and making sure that our guests can feel safe. We are in the process of remodeling so I hope you will return and see the upgrades we are doing in our rooms. Thanks again for letting us know about your stay. We do our best to make sure that our guests are 100% satisfied, and we are very sorry to hear that you were not. Please allow us the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn Near Baylor University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Address: 801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Near Baylor University 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn Near Baylor University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University Hotel Waco
Clarion Hotel Waco
Clarion Waco
Waco Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.