We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Near Baylor University to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This property is well priced and located close to Baylor - those are definite pluses. Don't be surprised though - the property is older, and the smell of chlorine from the pool hits you when you walk into the lobby.

The rooms are okay, beds are comfortable. The ventilation system in the room is adequate - our room smelled strongly of stale cigarettes upon arrival, but it cleared some when we got the a/c going.

The breakfast that was offered was okay for the price - nothing special, but convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were happy to learn that you felt our hotel was a good value to you when you stayed with us. We had hoped to have made a better first impression with you. Our goal is to exceed our guest's expectations, and we regret that we fell short of doing so for you during your stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can show you how great we can be. It seemed as if you may have been placed in a room where a previous guest smoked. We make a great effort to remove the smell of smoke from rooms when we have that issue. Unfortunately, that particular odor can be hard to remove. If there are comparable rooms available, we prefer to move a nonsmoking guest to a room that does not have a smoke odor. We hope you will come back to enjoy our full hot breakfast again. It sounds like this was a day where we were not at our best, and we would like you to enjoy our delicious hot breakfast at its very best, and the excellent service we provide in our tropical atrium. We do have a heated indoor pool, and we were sorry to hear that the chlorine smell was strong on the day of your visit. There are times that it requires extra chemical to keep it clean, clear and sparkling for our guests. Please give us the opportunity to make your stay a great one on your next visit to Waco, TX. We value your business, and your review of our property.

Warm Regards,

Clarion Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    23
    17
    25
See reviews for
65
13
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is everything expected and more. Comfortable clean rooms. Fresh made breakfast weekdays is very nice. The restraunt was exceptional service with Jose!! He made the whole trip lovely with his friendly service. The Atrium is a relaxing enviroment to sit and read.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and it is so rewarding when a guest lets us know that we have achieved that. We appreciate your business, and look forward to hosting your next stay in Waco, TX.

Warm Regards,

Monica Salter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we booked our hotel through HOTWIRE, we were excited when we found out we were going to the Clarion. This hotel let me down in many ways!

1. The comforters were extremely old looking and uncomfortable.
2. There was a dead cricket and TWO dead roaches under the air conditioner.
3. The wireless internet is very poor and i hardly got any good reception.
4. The room service opened our door TWICE even with the DND sign on the door and informing the front desk already of our slightly late check out.
5. The phone did not work in our room when we arrived. It took maintenance 1 hr to get there.

I could go on but i think that's enough said!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about our property. We want you to know that we take all guest comments very seriously. Please know that all of your concerns have been addressed. We are currently in the process of remodeling our hotel. The comforter on your bed was older, and is being replaced with our new comforters that will be placed in all of our guest rooms. We are replacing guest room telephones throughout the hotel as needed also. We apologize that yours was not working, and that our maintenance staff was delayed in taking care of this issue for you. As for the dead bugs under the air conditioner, we have pest control spray regularly in our rooms to prevent pest problems. In the rare event that there are pests, and there are remains, we make a great effort to clean it up so guests are not effected by it. We apologize that we were unsuccessful in doing so for your room. Please know that our housekeepers were very apologetic about disturbing you while you were in your room on your date of departure. We never like our guests to feel as if we are pushing you out. They wanted to make sure that your room was cleaned and fresh for you for another night, or for the next guest that would be staying in it. Guest service is our number one priority, and we would appreciate the opportunity of proving this to you. Please allow us another chance to show you how great our hotel and service really is.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

First of all, we were very skeptical about the part of town the hotel was located. Seedy looking guy hanging out around the parking lot. We even moved our vehicle at night to right outside the front desk because it just felt shady there. The room was no better than what we thought it would be. Nothing modern, all the linens were thin, hard, and very bottom of the line. Our room had a mini fridge, but had some food in it from previous guests, GROSS! we can't comment on the breakfast because we high-tailed it out of there at sunrise. Got this room through Priceline, they should have this hotel listed as a 1 star.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We certainly wish that you would have informed us during your stay if you were concerned with the security. We do not like for our guests to feel unsafe during their stay. You will be happy to hear that all of our Priceline guests are now booked in interior rooms in the hotel. We are a downtown hotel, but we take great strides in security by having our staff walk the property constantly, and making sure that our guests can feel safe. We are in the process of remodeling so I hope you will return and see the upgrades we are doing in our rooms. Thanks again for letting us know about your stay. We do our best to make sure that our guests are 100% satisfied, and we are very sorry to hear that you were not. Please allow us the opportunity to change your mind about our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We met family here, we drove from San Antonio and they from OKC. First impression was not the best but once inide and aquainted we were perfectly happy. We played cards & dominoes in the Atrium and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was nice, clean and the A/C would cool as low as you wanted it to go, that is a REAL Gold Star to me. The breakfast was nice, clean well stocked and kept. Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: You can request inside room and outside. Our relative was pulling a trailer and the outside room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this motel. When unloading vehicle, a thug looking man walked past us and we were way in the back where it was pretty deserted. Called the front desk and asked to be moved to a closer room up front but was told since we were staying 2 nights they couldn't accomodate our move. Front desk man was very nice though. Anyways, there were black hairs on the bathroom floor and a black hair on the toilet seat. My daughter spotted a hair on her towel. Carpet was dirty so we wore flip flops the entire time. I paid $62/nite thru Priceline and it was NOT worth it! We were even afraid to go to the pool after dark. All rooms face the outside so that is something to consider too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, General Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We never like to hear that someone has had a bad experience at our hotel. We value your business, and regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You certainly did not catch us at our best. We are located downtown so unfortunately we have some transient traffic that we work very hard to control. Your review has prompted us to put a greater effort in security, and cleanliness. We pride ourselves in being a very clean, safe, and well kept hotel. We make great strides to be sure that future guests do not have the issues that you had. I hope that you will contact us in the future so that we can offer you a room on the interior of the hotel, so that we can prove to you that this is not a regular occurance. It seems as if you stayed in one of our exterior rooms, and we offer interior as well to guests with that preference. That may have been a better fit for you. We would be happy to offer a discount on your next stay so we can show you our very best. Thank you again for your feedback. It is very valuable to us. The knowledge of weaknesses help us to turn them into strengths!

Warmest Regards,

Monica Salter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel looks kind of worn down from the outside but the inside is really nice. This hotel has rooms that face outside and inside which is the atrium. We had a room which faced the atrium. On the one hand I liked it because it had a hotel feel but on the other hand if people are walking around the atrium late at night and talking, it can get noisy. Also breakfast is served in the atrium so if you're not an early riser, it can get a bit loud if there are a lot of people eating breakfast. I happened to face the side that had the breakfast. The hotel faces two small streets so I I'm guessing it's not that noisy even if you get a room that faces outside.

The room is so clean and very nice. As one reviewer put, it was unexpected. The bathroom had granite and it was very clean. This is a pet friendly hotel and I have to say it's the cleanest pet friendly hotel. Maybe it's because they make you sign the policy that you're dog is house trained and all these other things. This is the only pet friendly hotel where my dogs did not start rubbing themselves on the ground. This tells me the room is very clean. The only thing I didn't like was the low shower pressure. You can take a shower fine but I like my water to blast. Also I guess because the pipes are old, you can hear the pipes when someone is taking a shower. Unfortunately my neighbor woke me up at 5:30. I'm a light sleeper so it woke me up but it didn't wake my nephew up.

They provide grab and go breakfast which consists of toasts, cereal, yogurt and other things you can take. For $5.99 or free if you're a Choice member, you get a hot breakfast. They have bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, french toast, gravy and biscuits. It was really good. They also had coffee, juice, milk and tea.

Everyone at the hotel was very nice. The one thing I had trouble adjusting to was that the two entrances to the hotel are one way streets. 4th street is a one way and 5th street is a one way that goes toward 35 N. Once I figured out what I was doing, it wasn't that bad.

All in all it was very good hotel.

Room Tip: If you get a room that faces the atrium, I would ask for one at the end of the other side so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Inn Near Baylor University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Address: 801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Near Baylor University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Inn Near Baylor University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University Hotel Waco
Clarion Hotel Waco
Clarion Waco
Waco Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.