We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion super close to Baylor Univ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Near Baylor University to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Waco
Katy, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clarion super close to Baylor Univ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Clarion is a good value, conveniently located, clean, recently upgraded, sincere & friendly staff, and has a DELICIOUS value breakfast! It's the first hotel we choose when visiting Waco.

Room Tip: We enjoy the rooms that overlook the atrium and indoor pool-nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    23
    17
    25
See reviews for
65
13
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I am writing in hopes that the CEO of Clarion will take notice of the top-notch staff at this location. In my recent stay at the end of May 2012, our family was gathering for our gradmother's funeral; a lot of us were coming in from out of town.

As we left in the morning for the burial, I left our video camera and the bag in the dresser drawer and did not realize until 3 days later! I was SO thankful that when I called I spoke to Ms. Krystal at the front desk (who also was there to check us in, and a very welcoming demeanor!) She stated that the guest who checked in after us turned this camera in to the front desk. Such a heart warming feeling to know that there are still honest people in this world, and Krystal was just about to call me when I called Clarion! We did pickup the video camera that afternoon, and we are just so thankful and appreciative of the customer service and friendly staff at the Clarion Inn Waco.

Clarion is lucky to have such a wonderful staff.

Dana - May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Our family had a great stay in a patio room. Noise wasn't bad. Close to the pool for the kids. Breakfast was good each day. Bathroom a little small but that was really the only complaint. Lounge was nice for an adult break and all staff was nice and helpful! Enjoyed our stay in Waco!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel online through a popular bidding service. We arrived at the hotel at 7 pm after driving for 12 hours. The external appearance of the property looked old and tired but it was rated as a 2.5 star hotel so we proceeded to check in. Our first problem occurred with the magnetic keys to the room, they wouldn't work so I had to return to the front desk and get them re-keyed. My second problem happened when the new keys would not open the door. As we were attempting to open the door a maintenance person appeared, confirmed our keys didn't work, and was kind enough to use his master key to open the door.
Upon entering the room we noticed that the doors had some holes in them and the ceiling tile were loose and sagging, the wall paper was torn and the toilet seat was not attached securely. The room had a sliding door that lead out to a large indor patio and pool area. The windows were so dirty that you could not see the pool. Additionally the entire area had a distinct smell of mold, chlorine and cigarettes. This was a terrible experience and did not stay the night even though we were exhausted from our long drive. Future customers beware.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after getting a tope secret deal for a three star hotel for $70. Well, by doing this we got stuck with clarion. And it was awful. It's more like a motel in that the rooms were accessible from outside. Stains all over the carpet, the toilet wasn't even flushed, water damage on the ceiling, and a general bad smell. We will not ever be back to a clarion and I'm not sure I'll ever use travelocity mystery hotels again either if this is the type hotel they use.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback from your stay. We strive to make our guest's stay as enjoyable as possible. It is evident that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize to you on behalf of the management and ownership of our property for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We take our guest's feedback very seriously, and want you to know that we are taking great strides to improve our property for you and all of our guests in the future. The carpet cleanliness and condition will be improved in the next 2-3 months when we replace our hotel carpet. The plumbing issue that caused the toilet to appear unflushed has been resolved. We also have interior corridor rooms that do not open to the outside. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to improve your impression of our hotel. We will make sure that you are issued a room on the interior of the hotel. Our hotel is over 40 years old, and we are work very hard to keep the maintenance and condition up to date for our guests. It appears that we fell short of this in your room, and we sincerely apologize. Please consider visiting us again in the future so that we can prove to you that with our updates and new management staff, we area a great Waco hotel to stay with! Thanks again for your feedback. We value your opinion.

Best Regards,

Monica Salter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am currently staying here and last night around 1130pm the room to me was rented out. Their dog was barking/crying...I could hear EVERY conversation they had. I was woken up around 5am due to hearing the room next doors phone alarm go off for an hour. For the price of this hotel I was very surprised when I walked in. Pool heater is broken, no smoking rooms smell like smoke. Very grungy looking. I'm currently cancelling my next weeks reservation and heading to the Hampton Inn. My co worker is also staying here and she is next to a stair case and did not sleep last night either due to hearing every person who walked up the stairs. One good thing I will add is the front desk staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value your opinions and views of our hotel, and use it to improve our services. We never like to hear that our guests are dissatisfied, and especially dislike hearing that our guests are not able to get a good night's sleep in one of our sleeping rooms. Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise problems. We gladly would have moved you to an area of the hotel away from loud areas. We understand that you have decided to move to another hotel this time, but hope that you will consider us again in the future. Unfortunately, we are unable to structurally change our rooms to improve peace and quiet, but we gladly place our guests in areas with low traffic when requested, and will do that for you any time that you would like to come back and stay with us. Thank you again for your time and feedback. We can only improve when guests like you give us your feedback from your experience at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Monica Salter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed at the Clarion in Waco last nite. OMG there are not enough words to say how BAD everything was. Indoor pool (the only reason we picked this place) heater was broken, went to get ice ,it was broken or empty. Went to the front desk to ask about another ice machine, waited over 15min. no attendent. Missed b-fast, so me and Piglett went looking for a cup of juice for her, b-fast person was SO RUDE. "Buffet over (hand slash)," I replied "just looking for juice" "OVER AT 9" looks at watch emphatically, "OVER, DONE" (hand slash, scowl) After reporting to front desk we were offered juice and pasteries. Uhm, no thanx.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLARIONWACOGM, Manager at Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Clarion Hotel in Waco, Texas. We appreciate the feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our apologies regarding your less than satisfactory experience. We pride ourselves on excellent service, great location and amazing amenities such as our indoor heated pool in our 2 story tropical atrium and our full service breakfast buffet and dinner service in our bar & lounge. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to extend you a hospitable experience at our hotel and stay with us again when you return to Waco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Near Baylor University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Near Baylor University

Address: 801 South 4th Street, Waco, TX 76706
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Near Baylor University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Near Baylor University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Near Baylor University Hotel Waco
Clarion Hotel Waco
Clarion Waco
Waco Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Near Baylor University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.