We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/Great Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Waco University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Waco University to your Saves list
Super 8 Waco University
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1320 South Jack Kultgen Freeway, Waco, TX 76706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Waco
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location/Great Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at - the hotel, the service, the breakfast is amazing. The staff is really friendly and the entire family had a good time. Having Wi-Fi connection available to all the guests is definitely a plus - not a lot of motels nearby provide that for free. I would love to come back to this super 8.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with the super 8 We are glad that the room you stayed in was accomodating for you and that you had a great experience with our hotel! We definitely can't wait to see you on your next trip to Waco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
26
21
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Average Super 8 faire.

However, the windows throughout do not dampen any sound from the nearby I 35. You'll hear every single car and truck...all night long.

The time connected to the Internet cycles. Meaning: their router allows you online, but you are really only connected for a few minutes at a time. Don't attempt to watch a You Tube video.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with the super 8 We are glad that the room you stayed in was accomodating for you and that you had a great experience with our hotel! We definitely can't wait to see you on your next trip to Waco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our stay started out by being placed in a smoking room, when we had requested a non-smoking room. The room smelled like a combination of stale smoke and carpet cleaner. I awoke several times because of the pungent smell. Unfortunately, we were on the first floor, and the window had no screen, so it could not be left open. The hotel staff were very unhelpful with any attempt to rectify the situation.

In addition to the awful smell, the heater did not work properly and the bathtub did not drain. I don't expect much from a place like this, but they failed to meet my low expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the inconvinience you had during your stay. We have had some smoking rooms that we have turned into non-smoking rooms. Maybe that is why you could smell smoke. Since I don't know what room you were in I am unable to assist yon on this problem. We really do appricate your bussiness and will try our best to meet your needs.I once again apologize for the inconvinience, hopefully you will give us another try.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I would say that this facility does not help the image of the Super 8 chain.
I will start with the good. Great location, clean room, helpful staff person when I checked in, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, recliner and mini fridge in the room. I just needed a place to sleep since the football game was a night game, so it met my needs. Here is the bad. I felt safe, but I did discover a security issue. My key did not work after the football game. I went to the front desk for assistance. She did not ask for any ID or any other information. I just told her what room and she did it. If this is the norm, it needs to be changed. Older facility, could be updated. I know all hotels will not have flat screens, but I would expect the channels to be clear. A few of the channels were snowy and some channels did not show up on the screen. One of my favorites, ESPN, was one of the snowy ones. Limited selection of channels. Just one channel available for kids, Cartoon Network. Which does not cater to little ones all the time. Lighting is poor and one light did not work. I did go to the front desk to let them know about the TV and light. Staff person did send maintenance. TV picture was a tad better and light was fixed. Staff person did check back with me when I saw her the next morning. Limited selection for breakfast. No fresh fruit at breakfast. No butter for the waffles. Could not consistently get Wi-Fi in my room. When I did have a connection, it was very slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for our front desk clerk (who is new) for not asking for I.D. upon redoing your keys to your room. I can assure you that this will not happen a gain. We have gone over agin with our employees about guest showing I.D. before keys are made.
We are all the time workin gon improvements for our motel.
I again sincerely apologize and hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, mi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Oh, my. I found this hotel through Wyndham Rewards and decided to stay here on my way from Austin to Dallas. Can't really find anything nice to say about it. It had an ancient tv with 17 channels (not even USA, my favorite), 3 STARZ channels which were worthless. The wifi was so slow as to be unusable. There wasn't a convenient outlet to plug in my computer and I ended up using the bathroom plug. The seat at the table was old and uncomfortable. LIghting was poor. There was a very large recliner which I suppose someone would like. Close to interstate and traffic noise was there. Left as soon as I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We sincerely apologize for the inconvinence you had during your stay. I am very sorry that we were not able to live up to your expeciations. We do our best to keep the property in good shape. We are all the time doing improvements to our property. I again apologize and hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just nasty. First of all the room was dirty, smelled terrible and was just gross. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Worst of all the person on duty that evening, possibly the manager, was extremely hateful and attempted to charge me $20 for my pet when I had called ahead and was told $10. The ice machine wasn't working. The neighborhood was horrible and unsafe. The rate was outrageous considering how nasty the room was. I'm not a picky person either. Trust me, for the money there has to be something better than this. It wasn't worth it. I spent one night there and you couldn't have paid me to spend another one. It was awful but the attempt to take advantage of the situation and rip me off for $20 was over the edge. If I could, I would rate this place a minus 10.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8waco1, Manager at Super 8 Waco University, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I sincerely apologize about the misunderstanding for the dog fee. We did have a new front desk person working. Our policy has always been $ 10.00 per pet per day. I am very sorry that we were not able to live up to your expectations. I will definately take severe actions to rectify the issues you had so that this kind of situation does not happen again.
I again apologize for the inconvinience, hopefully you will give us another chance to meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Waco University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Waco University

Address: 1320 South Jack Kultgen Freeway, Waco, TX 76706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Waco University 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 Waco, home of Baylor University. Ideally located between Dallas and Austin, our interior corridor hotel is easily accessible from I-35. Kick back and relax in our rooms offering Free High Speed Wireless Internet. A complimentary SuperStart Breakfast that includes hot items such as biscuits and gravy, boiled eggs and waffles is available every day from 6am - 9am. A Business Center, Free Daily Newspaper and 24 Hour Coffee is located in the lobby. Free Pass to Golds Gym, located nearby. Downtown Waco, Shopping, Restaurants and all Area Attractions are within minutes from our convenient location. Stay with us and you will see that our hotel in the Waco University area is truly a destination Super 8. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Waco University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Waco University Hotel Waco
Super Eight Waco
Super 8 Hotel Waco
Waco Super Eight
Waco Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Waco University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.