We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Indoor Pool, Clean and Spacious Suite, Good Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 Market Place Drive, Waco, TX 76711   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Waco
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indoor Pool, Clean and Spacious Suite, Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Hampton Inn South and loved our stay. The excellent tripadvisor reviews and the indoor pool helped us to choose this location over others. The great reviews were correct - this place is wonderful! Check-in was easy and efficient. The decor of the hotel and room were lovely and modern.

We had a king suite which was spacious and had a fold-out couch. During the morning and evenings, it was great to have a place to sit and relax, but not be right next to/bumping up against the bed. There was plenty of closet space for those that need to stay several days or even a week. We really liked having the kitchenette by the front door as it was tucked away from the bed area. The mini-refrigerator was a decent size, able to hold lots of beverages and even some leftovers without being stuffed. The free popcorn and the microwave was a nice bonus for our kids.

As far as bedding - this is perhaps one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on in years and years - if not ever. I had the best night of sleep I've had in quite a while.

The room includes a HUGE 42" plasma flat screen tv that can rotate on its stand to show at the bed area or all the way to the other side of the room to the sofa area. The small table and 2 chairs were nice to be able to do a little laptop work.

Downstairs you'll find the indoor pool and whirlpool/hottub. My kids really LOVED the pool and they said it was really warm, room temp or better. It wasn't a small pool either, more medium, which was nice as there wasn't the crowding that I've seen in some small indoor pools when multiple guests come into the pool at the same time.

For breakfast, they had a continental plus selection. The first morning, there were biscuits and gravy, southwest egg omeletes, sausage patties, and potatoes. The second morning, biscuits and gravy again, scrambled eggs, potatoes, and breakfast pizza with egg/cheese/bacon on a bagel. You could make waffles if you wanted of take advantage of the pastries, cereals, breads, juice, or coffees. Good selection for most people. I also liked that they had the local newspaper in addition to the USAToday as we could see the local sports for Baylor and happenings around town.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We are so pleased to hear that you had such an excellent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Waco South! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to have every stay be outstanding and it’s great to know when we are accomplishing that goal! We hope to see you again the next time you visit Waco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    50
    10
    11
    3
See reviews for
118
49
25
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The Hampton Inn Waco South is very clean and comfortable. The staff is amazing, friendly, helpful and welcoming. I will definately be staying there on my next trip to Waco.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We are happy to hear that you had an outstanding stay with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Waco South. We are commited to ensuring that the comfort and quality of our hotel exceeds the expectations of our guests. Our staff was excited to hear how they made your stay more enjoyable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I can't speak for anyone else BUT I can say that the accommadations were excellent. The rooms were great and the employees really know how to talk to you if you have any kind of problem. They are very courteous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that has to stay in WACO. You guys are on it! I might just come there just to relax (LOL)! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonWacoSouth, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, responded to this review, March 25, 2011
We are so excited to hear about your outstanding trip to the Hampton Inn and Suites Waco South! It is our commitment to ensure the comfort and quality of our hotel exceeds each and all of our guest's expectations. We really appreciate your feedback and compliments. It is our goal to have every stay be oustanding and it's great to know that we are accomplishing that goal! We can't wait to see you again, when you visit Waco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on the weekend of the Baylor/A&M game due to having seen it previously due to having my son's groomsmen stay over for his wedding. I really liked the newness and the location behind the very nice shopping area. The lobby decor is very appealing with a huge ceiling area and flat screen tvs in the breakfast/lounge area. Breakfast was better here than at the Hilton downtown- huge selection. I used the area as I did not care to bring my laptop with me on this particular trip, and it was fine. While we were there, the hotel was busy... which leads me to the few negative comments that I have.
Housekeeping made our beds; we had not requested a sheet change. They changed our towels. That was about it. I found a paper plate on the floor next to the nightstand from something brought up from breakfast, as well as the screw cap to a water bottle used previously. I want to say that this indicated that housekeeping really quickly breezed through the room due to the busyness of the weekend. We were in a suite on the fourth floor and the room was spacious- but I have to say that it was not well laid out in terms of disturbing one's partner. The sink is open to the bed area while the tub and toilet are behind a seperate door. If one wants to wake and apply makeup or brush teeth before a spouse is awake, you will disturb him/her. The layout of the kitchenette area was very nice. We had one small problem with the fridge freezing our Pinot Grigio and that is probably my fault because I set the fridge for a cold setting. It seems as though the rooms are a little warmer than they need to be in the Fall season and we had to turn on air conditioning when the outside temperatures were less than 65 degrees.
The top floor of the hotel is very quiet. The suites are actually a good value and if you are a Hilton Honors member, you would appreciate the difference in the size of the rooms offered. I did not however, find anything to be special about the front desk personnel on this trip. They were not especially engaging, although they were courteous- when we came in we interrupted what seemed to be a personal conversation. The conversation was halted but our presence as paying customers seemed to be somewhat of a bother. Oh well! This has been the case in several Hilton properties we've visited lately, and was really highlighted to me by our stays at the O.Henry in North Carolina and the Biltmore Inn in Asheville. There truly is a difference in a top tier stay and a chain of this type. However, I can say that we have stayed in several of the best hotels in Waco over the past five years and this is one of our top two. The other is not a Hilton brand. We probably will stay in a standard king if we stay here again, due to the fact there is no privacy advantage in the suite, as there is in the other hotel which we like. Another plus which we did not use was the indoor pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Staff all friendly and welcoming.Nice big room with very comfortable king bed and good cooked breakfast.Would go back certainly .Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

As a business traveler, this was a great place to stay! Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Truly a very great stay. All employees were top of the line, very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South

Address: 2501 Market Place Drive, Waco, TX 76711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Waco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waco
#2 Business Hotel in Waco
#3 Family Hotel in Waco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Waco hotel provides easy access to the Cameron Park Zoo, the Old Suspension Bridge over the Brazos River and Lake Waco. Baylor University and numerous Waco companies are just a short drive away.Make yourself at home in one of our 123 guest rooms and suites featuring king-sized or queen-sized beds, free internet, and complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Waco South
Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South Hotel Waco
Hampton Inn Waco
Waco Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Waco South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.