We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Brisket And Fast Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mumphord's Place BBQ

Mumphord's Place BBQ
East 1202 Juan Linn St., Victoria, TX 77901
361-485-1112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 167 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: (361) 485-1112
Restaurant details
Description: (361) 485-1112
La Veta, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Brisket And Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We were a bit rushed so we decided to go with a take-out. I ordered a pound of their brisket extra lean and was surprised when we got it home to find it as tender as butter. Lots of times brisket will be extra dry if you order extra lean. Plenty of smoke but little bark. The side of potato salad was too sweet for my traditional taste and the pinto beans had a touch too much garlic for me. The sauce also was sweet and must have been made with a Karo syrup base. Again, the brisket is tops in my book but I could very easily pass on the sides we had.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
killington, vt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can I give this place 10 stars?!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Best ribs ever. Hands down, no debate. Pork shoulder also very good, but they don't serve it every day. I was there one day when a double smoke pork chop was the special, after seeing them come out I wish we had tried it. This place knows good bbq!

Service is warm and homey, I love being there. Sides are just okay, but who cares. I go to eat meat!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BBQ Original”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

If you are in the mood for some original and traditionl BBQ, look no further, Mumphord's Place is your pit stop. Th place has preserved the rustic feel of a original BBQ joint. The meat is seasoned to flavor perfection, the erviceisa bit slow so do not come in if you are in a hurry, the tables are set up for multiple patrons. The place offers a real atmosphere of a original BBQ place.
best bet; lean briskets....

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pass it up for Quality Packers instead ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Everything is too sweet, from the barbecue sauce to the potato salad. The meat is average, brisket is only tender if it's shredded in a sandwich. I'd definitely skip it and hit up Quality Packers or even Uncle Mutt's as they're both way better than Mumphord's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Darn good barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Nothing fancy just darn good barbecue they give it to you on a sheet of paper and you sit down and eat barbecue that's just aabout it.no-frills

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumphord's Place BBQ also viewed

 
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mumphord's Place BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumphord's Place BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.