We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't Failed Me Yet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jason's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jason's Deli
5301 N Navarro St, Victoria, TX 77904-1760
361-575-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 167 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Hasn't Failed Me Yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I enjoy Jason's Deli in Victoria...I have now since I first moved to the area 5 years ago. Their wrapinis are delicious. The food is fresh. The salad bar has "almost" everything on it - with red pepper hummus and feta cheese, it is nearly perfect. The past few visits, the chocolate mousse on the bar has been runny and on my most recent visit, it was runny and almost empty and the employee didn't have any made and told us it would take approx 10 minutes to make more. Also, the olive oil bottle has been empty on 3 of the more recent visits however my past visit redeemed my belief that the empty olive oil was perpetual. They had a brand new bottle out! Employees have been marginal, especially the cashiers. The prep staff have been excellent and very attentive, as have the staff who bring our food. For the pricing of the food, I would work on staff training but this could simply be a regional issue versus a restaurant issue. The food, however, is very good...and that is why I come to Jason's Deli.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well Average is about all I can say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The salad bar was little to talk about but the soup was good. this is nothing but a lunch place but the place could use a good cleaning and its staff SHOULD NOT WEAR APRONS IN THE JOHN AND RETURN TO WORK!!!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch, popular spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Plenty of variety - we had carnivores and vegans in our group and we could all agree on Jason's Deli when discussing lunch options. Prices reasonable, and the food was good.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Good food, good service. Love the soups and the chicken salad is awesome.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
“Great restaurant I grew up with in Beaumont, TX”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I love Jason's Deli, having grown up in the town of it's birth! This particular location does not hold a candle to the original in Beaumont, TX, but does fulfill my hankering for deli food.

The service here is a bit on the slow side and management is far from exceptional. Anyone who complains about Jason's needs to visit the original location!

I have found that service in Victoria comes slower and with far less enthusiasm. People here live in a bubble, separate from the outside world. If you eat here or anywhere else in Victoria; just lower your expectations!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jason's Deli also viewed

Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
Victoria, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jason's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jason's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.