We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Find, Off the Beaten Path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boot hill Saloon & Grill

Boot hill Saloon & Grill
909 vega blvd, Historic route 66, Vega, TX 79092
806-267-2904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Vega
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Real Find, Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a pleasure to dine here, just 35 miles West of Amarillo, Texas on I40. You can tip a beer at the saloon bar, (bottles only, not draft and no glasses) or you can dine in the back room with no smoking and served by the cute little appropriately dressed Saloon Girl. The steak is certified Angus and is tasty and tender. I had my covered with sauteed onions and mushroom and found it great. Not a place for geeks and boomers, and as one reviewer made the classic mistake, (don't go to a steak house and order pizza, you are setting yourself up for failure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

May be we were very hungry and tired but the burger we had at the place was probably one of the best we had (only my wife makes better hamburgers!). I would recommend for anyone driving the interstate of even better, Route 66, to stop and have an early dinner. The place is nicely designed and attracts very authentic crowd! Cheers!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
“Worst meal ever and very overpriced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was the worst food and service ever! We ordered an appetizer that included potato skins. We might as well have ordered charcoal bricks! We ordered our kids cheese pizzas. The dough was still soggy and the cheese wasn't even melted! You could tell it was microwaved. And my husband and I ordered pulled pork! Talk about the most disgusting crap ever! We couldn't even eat it! You might as well save your money and stop at the Allsup's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skellytown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The steaks were excellent! Chef Rory (from food network) even talked to us! Great old west atmosphere! I would highly recommend this place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The food is even better than the decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Yes this is a little cheesy with the Old West atmosphere and the servers dressed as saloon girls BUT the food we ate was excellent. Our duo had the philly sandwich and the featured burger. Both exploded with taste and no way did we leave hungry. Our server was very friendly and attentive to our table. Get off I- 40 and give this place a try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boot hill Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boot hill Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boot hill Saloon & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.