We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whitten Inn to your Saves list
Whitten Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We read all the reviews for Van Horn and picked the Whitten Inn. And we got exactly what we thought we would find: a good location, nice clean room, fair price. No train noise. The steakhouse next door was definitely a plus and my daughter thought it was the best steak she had eaten in some time. No complaints and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    15
    14
    13
See reviews for
34
39
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am on a bicycletrip from Washington DC to Los Angeles and I stayed at 20 different Motels so far. I was surprised, how friendly I got treated. They eaven let me use the Washingmashine and the Dryer for free. The rooms are nice and clean. I would go there again. G.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived late & with a coupon. The man at the front desk didn't say much but stuck us in one of the side rooms when there was clearly rooms available in front. Anyway, we drove around to our room and it was kind of scary looking. Just a door & no windows out front. Needless to say the inside wasn't much better at all. There were slidind doors in the back that opened up to an empty lot with junk scattered around. It didn't feel safe at all. Carpet was dirty, a/c unit was dirty, bathroom window was dirty, curtains were dirty, there were what seemed like cigarette burn holes in the blanket, lots of dust by the fridge, the door securty latch was broken, there was a dead bug in the bathroom, a pube & dried pee on the toilet & a large spill of some sort behind the bathroom door. A/C worked great, beds cave in the middle, towels are very thin. We will not be staying here again when in the area. Pictures are worth a thousand words. See below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela b, Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are very sorry your stay was'nt pleasant. When our guest come in and ask for rooms with double beds we try very hard to accomidate them. With that said we only have 2 rooms in the front of the property with double beds. So we didnt have anything available in the front area.Normally when guest check in at 2am they are half asleep and we try to get them placed as quickly as possible so they can relax and enjoy there night. We are working very hard to get our porperty well maintained and clean as possible. Again we aplolgize you didnt have a pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you're traveling through Texas and see a Whitten property, my advice is: no matter how tired you are, look somewhere else for a place to spend the night. The Whitten Inn looked nice--a spacious room with two queen beds for $50. Then we noticed the t.v. got four channels--news,two sports and oxygen.Can't have everything, right?Except...where were the washcloths?Cups for the coffeemaker? Shouldn't the WiFi work? The bedspread was dirty. The rug was dirtier. The bathroom obviously hadn't been mopped in awhile. But we were dead tired. We went to bed. And for three hours bugs crawled on me and bit me. I got out of bed,went and showered thoroughly, and complained at the front desk. They said they weren't allowed to give refunds;only the owner could do that. I got the number to call. After a couple tries (I kept getting passed off) I spoke to someone and was told I didn't complain soon enough, so they wouldn't refund my money. I am handicapped. I use a wheelchair. How fast do they expect me to move?
As it is, I got three hours' broken sleep--maybe-- before complaining. If I had complained sooner, I'm willing to bet they would have said I'm just a complainer.
The person on the phone actually said the bugs in the bed were brought there by us!
Avoid Whitten Inn like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela b, Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We apologize that you had a bad stay. when your husband left the office we informed him as we do all guest that if there is a problem please call the front desk and we will take care of it ASAP. We didnt hear anything from you until the next morning when you came in and ask for a refund. I did ask what the problem was , your response was im not adrama queen and i want a refund. I did ask what the problem was once more and you said you had been eaten up by bugs and you couldnt get in the shower. That same day we had the exterminator on the property and the only bugs we could find were fleas on the bed . Those could have come from your dog that you had in the room. We checked the t.v and it had been unprogrammed with the remote from your room. Again we do apologize for any inconvience that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived late and hungry. The friendly people at the desk delayed checking us in in order for us to be served at the excellent restaurant next door. The room was much, much better than I expected, really first rate. I left my ipod there and they contacted me and mailed it to my house, refusing any compensation for all that trouble. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela b, Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The reviews were right on, older motel that is well taken care of and we were pleasantly surprised. VERY nice, clean, front staff was amazing and made you feel right at home. Not a large place, parking right in front of our room which was very nice. Would encourage anyone to stay here and the price is even more encouraging. CLEAN CARPET, good beds/pillows, Breakfast included, Wi-Fi, HBO all the items you would want except no pool. No problem for us but if you have children that might be a consideration.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 33 and it was very nice and clean, close to office and good parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela b, Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with whitten inn . we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked The Whitten Inn after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. It looks like an old fashioned motel that I stayed in as a child. But the room was up to date with a flat screen TV with HBO, two good beds, a fridge, and very clean bathroom. We have travelled in Europe often in the last couple of years and this hotel would receive four stars in France or Italy. Good value for the money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela b, Manager at Whitten Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It helps us to improve where we need improvement. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1705 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitten Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.