We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The management is the reason to come back and stay .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Whitten Inn to your Saves list
Whitten Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Humble
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The management is the reason to come back and stay .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The beds are comfortable, rooms are big and clean, the manager and his wife have great people skills. They both work very hard at making your stay as comfortable as possible. I stayed here for 3 weeks and it was by far a very pleasant stay. Would do it all over again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    13
    10
    7
See reviews for
31
35
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Dog friendly! We had left El Paso and were trying to reach Midland but due to weather conditions had to find somewhere in between to hang our hat for the night. This hotel is quite large and very accomodating. At first you think it is a small hotel but in the back there is a horseshoe shape lot with other rooms. Our room had two doors. One to the parking lot and the other to a grassy area where looks like during the summer you could hang out and enjoy a lemonade. This day it was perfect for the dogs to stretch there legs in the snow.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back so we were away from the street traffic and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This facility is under new management and is now a Whitten Inn. We stayed twice during our holiday travels between Arizona and Texas. Both times we found the rooms cleaner and neater than other places we've stayed in Van Horn over the past 15 years. One night it was quite cold outside when we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that the desk clerk had been in the room and turned the heat on in anticipation of our arrival. We will definitely stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After arriving in Van Horn and not getting a room at the Taylor Motel, we checked out this hotel which is now called the Whitten Inn. The receptionist cut us a great deal on a large room and waived the pet fee. This made it only a dollar more per night than the Taylor. The room was large and clean with comfortable beds. It is also close to the Van Horn Cattle Company, which is a good place to eat. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

On the morning that we were to check out, we went down to the lobby to pick up CP breakfast. The doors were locked. No one was there! We had to drive to McDonalds on the other side of the highway to pick up Big Breakfasts. We brought it back to the room. This all added to the spooky atmosphere of the motel and the town. It felt as if we were the only people there other than the ghosts lingering beside the closed down pool.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We drive between San Diego, California and San Antonio, Texas on a frequent basis. We tried many of the hotels in Van Horn. We now stay at the Whitten Inn, Americas's Best Value, because it meet all of our needs. The rooms, while small are clean, newly painted, they have a microwave, and a refridgerator. It is right next door to small steak house. Best of all the people are firendly and go out of their way for the customer. For example I lost an ear ring. It was not an expensive ear ring just a plain ear ring. They found it and make a phone call to make sure it was mine and then they put it in the mail to me.

Room Tip: For an better than excellent rate go on line and get a coupon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The only reason that I stayed here was because the Whittens (Whitten Inn - Abilene, TX) recently bought the place and I stayed at one of their Abilene properties before and had a good experience.

This, like has been said, is an older property. It kind of reminds me of a motel in the movie Cars. Anyway, the room was very small but I was alone so it wasnt that big of a deal. As with the other Witten property the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly.

Now for the bad news. When I woke up at 4am to shower, there was no hot water. Not happy I went ahead and got ready because I was on a tight schedule and had to leave. Then I go to the office to check out and its all locked up with a sign on the door with the managers cell number.

I called it and got voice mail (surprise!). I left a message telling him that I needed to check out and needed a receipt to turn into my company. Never got a return call from him.

Im thinking that I wont be staying there again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 1705 West Broadway, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitten Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.