We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was comfortable. Liked having a microwave and...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Van Horn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Van Horn to your Saves list
Super 8 Van Horn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1807 E Service Road, I-10 Golf Course Rd/Exit 138, Van Horn, TX 79855   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST RATE!
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    31
    14
    16
See reviews for
30
24
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our favorite place to stay in Van Horn. It's not the Ritz, but what do you expect?!? Price is reasonable, staff is friendly, breakfast is free, but don't be too picky about cleanliness. At least you're not next to the train tracks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super M, Manager at Super 8 Van Horn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
hello jeff,
thank you for taking time and let us some small issues about cleanliness.
we have worked on this and we assure you a good stay with us on your next trip,
thank you again jeff and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Van Horn, TX was a convenient stop for us on the way to Big Bend National Park. The Super 8 was in a convenient location - easy on and off the highway, and near fast food. Hotel was good, comfortable. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we arrived at about 2:40 p.m, there was nobody at the front desk. There was no sign ''Back in 10 minutes'' or something like that. First we thought the receptionist was maybe using the restroom, but after 10 minutes, we got worried. If we didn't have a reservation, we would have gone to another motel. But we had a reservation for two nights. We went to see if we could find employees and we saw Indian women cleaning. They had trouble speaking English but one of them went to the reception. When I said that we had a reservation, she said she could not help us with that and we would have to wait for the receptionist who would come back at 3 p.m.

She said we could sit on the couch while we waited. The couch was torn... we were really concerned about what our room would look like... Around 3 p.m, the young man came back with his car and did not apologize for not being there in the first place. But fortunately, the rest of our stay was OK. The room was OK with good wifi, it was quiet and clean and everything worked. There was also a laundry room. The breakfast included in the price was nice. We decided to stay only one night instead of two and there was no problem to get our money back. The best is to always book with Wyndham Rewards or Super 8.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Driving solo, cross-country (East-West) car trip. Normally stop in Van Horn, TX. First time stay at the Super 8 which is right off the I-10 freeway, south side next to the McDonalds. Stayed in a king, non-smoking room with microwave and small fridge. The top lock needs to be replaced because it is loose (Room 106). The bottom lock functions fine. The young man at the front desk was helpful when asked about local eateries. The bedding was clean and the bathroom a bit dated with limited shower pressure (but fine). Good Wifi. Serve a breakfast but did not partake.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side, a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Van Horn

Address: 1807 E Service Road, I-10 Golf Course Rd/Exit 138, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Van Horn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Super Eight Van Horn
Van Horn Super 8
Van Horn Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Van Horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.