We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Value in Oil Boom Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Capitan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel El Capitan to your Saves list
Hotel El Capitan
100 E. Broadway, PO Box 667, Van Horn, TX 79855-0667   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Looking for Value in Oil Boom Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Pushed thru Odessa area looking for reasonable hotel nightly rate. Read reviews on Trip Advisor for this hotel and decided we were game for this non-cookie cutter establishment. Only about a mile off I20. Lobby is quite beautiful with lots of tile, wrought iron, and wood. Room was small, but clean. All the basics were there including bottled water! Rm was definitely bigger than a room on a cruise ship - bathroom, no! Still very nice, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise. We have been staying at chain hotels with comp breakfast and this was better. Fresh fruit salad, waffle maker, granolas, and all the other usual fare. Desk people low key and unobtrusive. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    82
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
98
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
austin texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Lobby charming ,but it ends there! Bland decor throughout,Rooms small, bed spreads dark, dirty.The "designer sheets" see thru Muslin. Totally no service,not even a phone in the room to connect to the front desk.No coffee service in the room.Seemed to be cleaner than other hotels in Town.I recommend just drive thru this town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

What a gem on a long drive through west Texas & NM. Lovely restored hotel. Felt travel was elegant & special again. Recall those days?! A bit pricey for the local, but was not sorry we paid it. Our room was smaller for just 1 night. So clean! So comfortable! Everything worked just as it should. Definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt County, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Lovingly refurbished 1930s hotel, originally designed and built by the same people behind the Hotel Paisano in Marfa and the Gateway Hotel in El Paso. Some of us seek this kind of unusual and historic properties out, and if you're one of those kind of people, this is a really nicespot to check out.

Yes, the rooms run small, and there's noise of varying degrees from the trains--didn't bother me a bit! My room was super-clean, super-comfortable, came with a flat-screen tv, fridge, microwave, wifi...And it's pet-friendly.

Combo bar/restaurant downstairs was hopping on a Thursday night with hotel guests and locals, yet I felt very comfortable and looked-after as a solo traveler. And the food was both good and had plenty of local flavor.

I'd stay here again, without a question.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is indeed historic so take pix of the lobby and courtyard but stay someplace else like the quality inn. We spent one night at this hotel on our way to San Antonio. Tonight we are at the quality inn which has nicely appointed clean and spacious rooms for much lower price. Our experience at el capitan was a disappointment. The front desk clerk never smiled or welcomed us,acting as if she were doing us a favor by checking room availability. We were quoted 3 prices for the same room. We then asked for queen room and was quoted a higher price than website. Regclerk then reluctantly said we could have room at price on website. The room is remodeled and nicely furnished, but too small for one person much less 2. Think smaller than a cruise ship. Bath had no place for toiletries. On a positive note the restaurant staff were great and diner menu, though limited, was good. Breakfast was usual cold items on continental breakfast. Overall this not one I would recommend but others have loved it.

Room Tip: There is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I have been traveling through west Texas twice now in the past year. Each time we have stayed at Hotel El Capitan. This is NOT for everyone. It is not plush. It is located across the street from an active train track. Van Horn has truly nothing to offer (for visitors) other than being half way between Phoenix and Dallas. So why do we stay here? It is truly different from the norm. I love the lobby area and the sitting room with fireplace. The restaurant is down home, spartan, that serves tasty food and has a full bar (nice after enduring the seemingly never ending boredom that is west Texas). Our server, Nancy, was friendly and helpful..a delight. I had not remembered the pillows bring as hard as they are. But, everyone has their preference of pillow types. Stay here knowing what it is, and why it is what it is. People like us, who enjoy something from the past, will enjoy it. If you are into plush, don't stay here and follow your stay with a bad review. Stay somewhere else rather than pan this wonderful example of yesteryear.
I do wish they would turn off the TV in the dining room, or at least get that Fox News off the screen. It would be really nice to be able to get away from all the ridiculousness while enjoying dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was an overnight stay between two long days driving and Van Horn was in the middle. We had read some good reviews about the El Capitan so we decided to stay. It's an historic hotel and has been sell preserved, it's clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was quite spacious with nice furnishings but the bathroom was tiny. Breakfast is basic continental but sufficient for our needs. You won't need an alarm clock here as the train whistles in the morning will certainly wake you up (starting at 4.30am), this is no bad reflection on this hotel as Van Horn is a small town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Capitan

Address: 100 E. Broadway, PO Box 667, Van Horn, TX 79855-0667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel El Capitan is the only historic hotel in Van Horn. The hotel was established in 1930 and built by the famous Trost & Trost architecture firm of Texas. The owners of the hotel are native born Texans and have established a reputation for buying and restoring historic inns in Far West Texas. The hotel is on the Texas Mountain Trail as well as the crossroads of the Guadalupe Mountains and the Big Bend National Parks off Interstate 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Capitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Capitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.