We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Van Horn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Van Horn to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Van Horn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1921 SW Frontage Road, Van Horn, TX 79855   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was a wonderful overnight stop in West Texas. Very clean and very nice at the front desk. Easy to get from I-20 to the hotel. Easy parking. Very quite. Good value for the money. I will stay there again on my way back through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    71
    40
    29
    10
See reviews for
97
84
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

After a long drive from Tucson, we decided to stay in this hotel for one night based upon the reviews from trip advisor. True enough, it is a clean hotel. It is a comfortable place to stay after hoursnof driving. The breakfast buffet is better compared to the other hotels we were in during this trip. Overall, we had a good experience on this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Traveling from Tucson to Dallas trying to find a hotel--seemingly in the middle of nowhere. We made lots of phone calls, then looked on TripAdvisor and felt confident making our advance reservation. We were not disappointed as the rooms were clean, the staff helpful with suggestions for where to eat and the breakfast was very nice. They even have small breakfast goodie bags to take with you. There are many hotel choices at this exit, wouldn't consider anything but this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 9 months ago and thought it was a bit pricey then. Perhaps it's that this stay came in the middle of summer or perhaps the it's because demand for lodging has gone up in Van Horn but the price is up 8%. At that rate it really starts to get in to the "overpriced" category. Don't get me wrong - it's a nice property. But this is not the Hilton and this is not a major city with high property taxes and land values. They do take various discount sources (government, corporate, AAA, AARP). But if I was staying in Van Horn again I'm not sure I would stay here again. I guess it's supply and demand, though.

Room Tip: A second floor room on the "back" side gives a nice view of the scenery. Tehre's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHNFR, General Manager at Hampton Inn Van Horn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stays with us and enjoyed the property. We do our best to keep it in top shape and squeaky clean. I am sorry that you feel that our hotel is over priced for the area. We strive to be competitive with other hotels we feel are equivalent to ours in the surrounding areas. We offer the best of the best!! We are the only hotel in Van Horn with an indoor heated pool and hot tub. We have the best full hot breakfast in town, as well as complimentary wireless internet. We are the newest hotel in town and one of the few that offers the security of interior corridors. We are also the only hotel that offers our guest a fitness center. Our hotel may be a little pricey compared to the other hotels in Van Horn, you definitely get what you pay for!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

All in all a very good experience. Van Horn is a nice little town considering it's location (middle of not much). Rooms were clean, quiet, and staff helpful. Noticed that someone had spilled a drink (coffee?) in the entrance at the rear of the hotel. Within 1 hour the mess was cleaned up -- without me raising the issue with management. Breakfast was excellent and a bag of snacks was provided the next AM in case we grew faint on the road. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor front was quiet and provided a great sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Finally a nice hotel in Van Horn...thank you for building it here! We were traveling with pets and thank goodness they allowed them. The hotel is lovely and very clean. You can't tell they allow pets since the rooms are very clean. Worth the extra price since they were almost sold out and the only hotel worth staying at in Van Horn. Plus the "Breakfast on the Go" bag was awesome!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Newest hotel in Van Horn. It is pretty much what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. The rooms are nice, but feel a little smaller than normal.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Van Horn

Address: 1921 SW Frontage Road, Van Horn, TX 79855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Van Horn Hotel Van Horn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Van Horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.