We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and well maintained.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn of Van Horn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn of Van Horn to your Saves list
Quality Inn of Van Horn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and well maintained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Van Horn Quality Inn is a decent place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful--we needed a new remote for the TV--no problem getting one. The bedroom was acceptable and beds comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had the necessary goodies--shampoo, etc... Towels were nice and "fluffy" and there were enough of them at least for two people. The mini fridge and microwave were both in good condition as was the TV. For dinner it was just a short drive down the road to the best restaurant in town, the "Cattleman's"--great steaks reasonably priced as was their beer. The breakfast in the Quality was acceptable as was the price for the night's stay. Best to stay in Van Horn rather than Fort Stockton as the hotels there are overpriced because of the oil field work crews--that is, if you can get a decent room.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the interstate (I-10).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
25
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our yearly trip from NY to AZ we stayed at five different hotel chains, and although this place will get no awards for decor it was one of the better nights we spent in a hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room's ref and micro were the best ones we had, of all the other hotels ( separate freezer compartment and a lighted ref.) breakfast was very good too.
The area is a little dusty and barren, but easy access to I-10.
The lobby has a coffee table in it that looks like it won the "ugly coffee table contest."
So if mismatched furniture and decorations bother you don't stay here, but for the color blind or the dead tired it is a good spot for the night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us of your recent stay here at the Quality Inn. I am glad to hear that you found your stay with us clean and comfortable. As for the decor we will be undergoing some new renovations in the near future. But our number one priority is that all of our guests are happy and comfortable with their stay. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review with us and we hope you have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
FDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I stayed here October 24th. I stay in hotels 300 + nights yearly. This hotel is located at the interstate and is very easy to get to. The building and grounds are well maintained. The checkin was fast and efficient. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Overall, a great place to stay. Large vehicle parking is available.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us of your recent stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Tx. We are pleased to hear that you found your stay with us satisfying. My staff and i work extremely hard to provide every one of our guests with a nice, clean and comfortable stay. After all our main priority is for our guests to leave here happy and wanting to come back again. So we thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. I hope you have yourself a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Not fancy, but a comfortable place to stay while travelling thru Van Horn. I stay here every time I have to pass thru the area, and each time, the owner is making improvements to the property. The rooms are well decorated, nice bedding, mini-fridge and micro in the room. Bathroom is small, but has been upgraded and is well maintained. I have always found front desk and breakfast area staff to be very friendly.

Breakfast selection pretty good, and well stocked.

Most hotels in Van Horn front the Interstate, so noise can be a problem for some, but if you ask for room near the back end of hotel you should be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for room near back of hotel to stay further away from Interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us of your recent stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Tx. I am pleased to hear that you continue to find your stay's with us pleasant. We are in the process of renovating our hotel so that we can continue to provide outstanding service to all of our guests. Thank you once again for your positive review and hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We stayed there yesterday to this morning. Desk staff not very courteous . Asked or exta pillow, since the are a little small. They said they did not have any. All the customers take them. Rooms smelled dirty. The only good thing was the breakfast. It was hot and tasted good. The person manning the breakfast area was on the ball! I would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us regarding your stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Tx. I am terribly sorry to hear that you didn't find your stay with us pleasant. We do our best to fullfill all of our guests needs the best we can. As far as the smell of your rooms go i will provide my housekeeping with this information so that we can prevent this from happening in the future. Once again i apologize for the service you received and i assure you that this will not happen again. I hope you have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Well, we had dinner in Fabens, TX and were on our way east. Van Horn is more or less the first place along I-10 where there are hotels that you can book using one of the web apps. So, we booked the Quality Inn and hoped for the best. We were not disappointed. The room was fine, service was good, and breakfast was typical for this type motel. Decent place to stop.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us of your recent stay here at the Quality Inn in Van Horn, Tx. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do our best to provide our guests with a great stay. Once again thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you again. Have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
SM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We stayed here during a cross country road trip....its a Quality Inn, so don't expect Egyptian cotton sheets and a jacuzzi tub. Room was clean and a good size with a little sofa, fridge, microwave, etc. Bed was comfy and we slept great.
Not sure if it's normal, but there were thousands of small dead bugs outside the room and all over the parking lot. So many that we didn't roll our suitcases. Gross.
My wife thought she left her ipad in the room & we realized it a few hours later. She called and the front desk girl put her on hold and went to the room to check for it herself. It was there. As it was late on Saturday, she couldn't get it in the mail until Tuesday (Labor day weekend). The following Tuesday the hotel called to double check the address, and to let us know they would ship it that day. THANK YOU front desk girl!! We owe you a beer (I think she was 21?).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krish P, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn of Van Horn, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us of your recent stay here at the Quality Inn. I am proud to say that i have amazing staff members working here to make our guests stay here pleasant. We do our best to provide a clean and comfortable stay here at our hotel and try to accommodate to our guests needs as best as we can. As far as the dead bugs outside the rooms, we had been experiencing a lot of rainfall the previous weeks before and unfortunately with the rain comes bugs. So no we don't always have that many dead bugs. We do our best to maintain the problems during the day but have no control of them during the night. However i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my staff provided you with great hospitality. Once again thank you for leaving a review with us and we hope that you will stay with us again. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,
Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn of Van Horn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn of Van Horn

Address: 1905 SW Frontage Rd, P.O. Box 1120, Van Horn, TX 79855 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Van Horn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Van Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn of Van Horn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn of Van Horn Hotel is equidistant from Tucson, Dallas and San Antonio conveniently located off Interstate 10 at exit # 138 in West Texas. When coming from the west, take the exit and stay to the right; when coming from the east, go left under bridge and the hotel is off to the right. There are fast food restaurants within two blocks. Gas & convenience store next door and restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary "Q Corner" hot breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new "Q Corner" breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs/scrambled eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage(turkey or bacon), sausage and gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls hot cereal.. Visit Van Horn, TX and Stay at the Quality Inn. No elevators, just stairway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn of Van Horn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Van Horn Hotel Van Horn
Holiday Inn Van Horn
Van Horn Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn of Van Horn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.