We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food's good, pies are great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Maples Cafe

Lost Maples Cafe
Main Street, Utopia, TX 78884
830.966.2221
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Utopia
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food's good, pies are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I rarely eat fried food but the smell of the fried chicken was too good to pass up. Wow, the lightest breaded (buttermilk) fried chicken ever, and it was moist and flavorful. Maybe they sourced it locally because I don't find chicken like this even from local organic sources in Austin. Salads are not a strong suit here.

But the pies certainly are, and there are lots to choose from. We sampled all of them (!), and the four of us agreed the coconut meringue, pecan, and fudge pecan were the best. The buttermilk pie was very good but a bit on the sweet side for our tastes. The chocolate meringue and fruit pies didn't match the others.

We didn't have breakfast here but it looked promising.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Country Texas Style Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good home cooking - nice tasty jalepeno-cheese hamburger steak and tasty homemade onion rings and pie.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Love it Here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Weekdays during lunch hour are pretty busy here... the cafe is heavily frequented by the locals. I've been a number of times and always hits the spot!

I've tried chicken friend steak, cheeseburger, and the enchiladas. All have been wonderful. They also have a huge assortment of freshly baked pies that can be sold whole or by the slice.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Area Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The food was good and the staff friendly. The atmosphere is worth a visit. This was the restaurant featured in 7 Days in Utopia and it was very interesting to hear their story.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This cafe is exactly the hidden treasure we expected to discover in Texas. Not an overcrowded touist trap. Locals eat there and have a chat. A cosy and lovely interior with a lot of collectibles from the last centuries. Excellent food and deserts for a reasonable place.

We would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Maples Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lost Maples Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Maples Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.