We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, best service in Tyler!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5701 South Broadway, Tyler, TX 75703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, best service in Tyler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business and I have to say the people that work here make it worth the stay. From the minute you walk in the door there is someone to great you. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They have recently remodeled all the rooms and they are very nice. I had great internet in my room, the lobby and the restaurant. I really enjoy the breakfast buffet in the morning, it is well worth the money. This time I arrived late at night and was hungry. The gal at the desk showed me the little snack area and I was able to find several things to cure my hunger pangs. I will always stay here because this hotel knows great service and shows it every time I stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and clean, and have good internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your comments about our hotel I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will forward your comments to our staff as they work very hard to insure all guests are satisfied during their stay with us We just upgraded our internet and was happy to see you noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
21
8
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was just coming from another Holiday Inn in which I had spent over a month for work, so I had similar expectations for this property. The other hotel was smaller, but they truly made me feel at home.

For this stay, I had requested a room with a pool view, but I was sent to a room overlooking a terrace with all the AC units. Not only I did not feel safe, but the room also had a bad smell. I requested to be changed, and there was a room on the same floor with pool view and no smell, which tells me that my request was probably not even read. Room was good size, but balcony doors are shut closed - I guess for safety, but in my case that is one of the features that attracted me to this property. I walked around and pool pictures posted on the web were probably taken with a wide lens as size of the pool was much smaller. Since I arrived TV was not working (No signal), so decided to have dinner and wait to see if the problem will be resolved by the time I returned. Nothing happened, so I called the reception and they were supposed to send an outside technician. I waited until close to 11 PM, nearly 2 hours later, and nobody showed up to get this fixed. I could not go to bed waiting for the tech, and at the end nothing was fixed.

I was planning to extend my stay, but after that first night, it was my last, I moved to another hotel. I love the Holiday Inn brand, I am a platinum member with IHG, so I have stayed in many different hotels. This one not only did not met expectations, but I found staff not very attentive or willing to solve problems.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning our hotel. I was very disapointed to learn of your dissatifsfaction with the service you received. I do not have access to the original reservation you made to see why your request for a poolside room was not honored, if you would like to call me I would be happy to look into it. Our pool is one of the largest hotel pools in Tyler it is 8ft deep at one end where many of the new hotel pools are only 4ft deep and much smaller. Our balcony doors do not open as a safety measure for our guests. I was unaware of any TV issues and I apologize that this issue was not resolved. Again, thank you for letting us know of your concerns and like I say if you want to give me a call I would be happy to investigate further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for the State baseball championship games and it was the perfect location. Rooms had obviously been recently renovated and were spacious, very clean and appointed with up-to-date furnishings, including a large flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable and they even give you a choice of pillow type (clearly marked). The A/C worked great which was a relief coming in from 95 degree weather. The staff was exceptional. Very friendly and wanting to do anything to make our stay better. Breakfast had lots of choices, including an omelet bar and a good variety of fresh fruits, cereals, juices, grits, potatoes, etc. I had trouble getting WIFI in my room but was told some rooms have more trouble than others. That would be my only suggestion for management - make sure ALL rooms have it. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding our hotel. My Staff and I love it when our guests notice all the improvements going on at the hotel. There are many more to come so next year if and when you return to Tyler to play ball check us out and see what is happening at the Holiday Inn So, Broadway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the past 3-4 years and always felt it was a good option for the money and location. However, this past trip it was moving beyond shabby into the ick factor. My room, which was not very up to date, also had a faintly unpleasant smell--not quite sour or mildewy but almost. The tub tap leaked, and the shower head was inadequate.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the room was nicely dark and the A/C was very good, almost too good. I set it on 78 degrees F and slept a little too cool.

The staff was, as it has always been when I've stayed there, very welcoming.

I was on one of the two concierge floors and had a complimentary breakfast in the concierge lounge the next morning which included scrambled eggs and bacon. That was a nice perk.

I was using points for this stay, and from now on this hotel will probably be on my "only if I can't afford someplace newer" list.

Room Tip: If you're an IHG rewards member, request the 7th or 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We have just completed a total renovation of all sleeping rooms and will be starting on the bathrooms in the near future. I would be interested in knowing what part of the room was not up to par since we have put new furniture, lamps, bedding, crown molding, in all rooms. If you feel like giving me more detail please call me.
We are also completing the corridors, exterior, landscaping, pool abd restaurant and lounge.
Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Laura and I believe Becky were very helpful in directions and a spectactular speedy checkin.
this is the Place to stay in Tyler.very nice and quiet rooms also,good food,and that wonderful smile Laura has.Thank YALL very much.
RNMSN53@gmail.com

Room Tip: all rooms are Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding Laura and Becky, I will see that they are rewarded for their efforts to help you feel at home while you travel. Thank you also for your comments regarding our hotel. We are renovating several areas of the hotel and hope to see you again on your next visit to Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the nicest staffs i have ever experienced. I felt like every person was really going out of their way to make my stay perfect.

The rooms were nice, clean and large.

I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Wow! On behalf of the management and staff, we want to thank you so much for noticing all the great changes going on at the Holiday Inn So Broadway. We have completed the room renovations except for a few minor details, but more is on the way. We will be redoing all the corridors, exterior, landscaping and a new restaurant and lounge coming in the near future. Please check back on your next visit to Tyler to see the new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week during the state Tball Championship, I was traveling with 3 kids age 10, 6, 1... Rooms were on the smaller side but still great. Pool was a big hit with my bunch and the adults traveling with us enjoyed the bar at night. Had trouble connecting my iPhone with their wifi though. Also the bath tub in our room would not drain without someone holding down the "thingy". But those were minor inconveniences. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean and trust me I checked under the bed under sheets and all... Fridge and microwave were nice in room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerHISB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. We appreciate the feedback from our guests as we use them as training tools to increase awareness in our staff as to what our guests are looking for in their travels. I hope the team won their tournament. Hope to see you again in your travels to Tyler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway

Address: 5701 South Broadway, Tyler, TX 75703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn South Broadway is Tyler's largest full service hotel and is the business traveler's first choice when choosing a hotel in Tyler. Winner of a "Best of 2009" award by Texas Meetings + Events Magazine, it is easy to see why we are the meeting planners first choice as well. Families love us because kids eat and stay free in our hotel! Pets are welcome too! Check out our Holiday Inn hospitality soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway Hotel Tyler
Holiday Inn Select Tyler
Tyler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Tyler-South Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.