We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old converted apartments?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3303 Troup Highway, Tyler, TX 75701 (Formerly Residence Inn Tyler)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Sacramento
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old converted apartments?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was far from impressed with this Residence Inn.

The walkways to the rooms are narrow, steep, and sometimes downright dangerous. Our room was on the far end of the complex so it was a hike every time to get to the lobby.

The stairs going up to the rooms were a bit wonky and seemed like they had seen better days. Our railing was even wobbly.

My biggest complaint with the Residence Inn's I have stayed in, is that since they have refrigerators, they have ice trays, no ice machines. Which is fine if only one or two people in your suite want to make anything using ice. Once you run out, you have to wait for more ice. A single ice machine in the lobby would be a fantastic addition. Not to mention checking into the hotel and finally getting over to our room on a hot day, and they ice trays were empty.

Our room's view was of the rooftops of the adjacent strip mall. Which was fine, we were there on business, but if you are their for leisure, you might want to see if they have any nicer views.

Breakfast was hot, good and had a nice variety. That was probably the only plus to this stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
9
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family member book this hotel for a big group coming to Tyler for family function. We had 6 rooms booked, which we didn't get them close together. First night we( me and my husband) had a huge party going on in the rooms under ours, when my husband complained to hotel staff we found out that those are Marriott employees from another hotels. they very playing very laud music with heavy base, which was vibrating our bed. After complains music got a little quieter and the voices outside stopped temporarily. After multiple calls to the office and several security trips to those rooms below, it was around 1am, music continued with base deep enough to be heard from bathroom area ( right next to bed), voices returned around 5am laud outside.
We asked for another room in the morning, and were given room next to rest family (?), where more noises happened at night, but less than in the first place. WHAT a PARTY HOTEL.
Mattresses are memory foam, so if you like it no problem, to me it is super soft engulfing experience, end up with more back pain.
Older hotel musky smell in room, doors were stack and difficult to open/close.
So glad to be home after this trip, will not book with this hotel again, probably not going to use Marriott as well.

Room Tip: 2 storied hotel, no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is a little worn. You feel like you are in your grandparents old house and none of the stuff has been updated. Cabinets were dark, old and worn. It just feels like you are in a very low end apartment.

The room was clean for the most part. One "chunk" of something in the tub.

The thermostat was broken and held together with scotch tape.

The grounds were clean and well kept and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

The hotel is in a good central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here a couple of times and always enjoyed the accommodations and perks of this establishment.
First was for work interview,
Second was due to an apartment fire, stayed a month and they made it feel like home as much as they could.
The staff was always helpful and courteous and made the best of some hard times in Tyler.
Great breakfast and Happy Hour get togethers
Rooms are nice and housekeeping does a great job of keeping them that way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband had a long term work assignment and was placed in this hotel. I will begin by saying I am a very picky person when it comes to hotel cleanliness. I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The room was very clean, the linens nice, the bed was ok, the floors clean, and a kitchen nicely stocked for cooking. The only down side was there was only wired Internet access in the room with Wi-Fi available in the lobby. I was informed the owners are working on a plan to get wireless in the guest rooms. The laundry room was nice with a nice tv to watch if you wanted to stay there. The pool was adequate. There was also a tennis court next to the pool. My husband and I are avid exercisers and were pleased to know we were given access to a hospital's gym only 5 minutes down the road. Very nice place with a variety of equipment and classes if you wanted to participate. The hotel breakfast was nice and happy hour during the week was a nice bonus. If we were to return to Tyler for another long-term assignment we would definitely choose this hotel. I would recommend asking for a room facing the courtyard area. That is where we were located and it was exceptionally quiet, but I can see how rooms closer to the highway might be a bit noisy unless you turned the a/c fan to the "on" position to drown it out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard area would be the quiter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Decent 3. No bugs. Very dated. Lots of repairs needed. Not bad if you need a place to stay with pets.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very comfortable motel/hotel to stay while visiting Tyler. Quiet, clean and very accomidating....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler

Address: 3303 Troup Highway, Tyler, TX 75701 (Formerly Residence Inn Tyler)
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tyler Hotel Tyler
Tyler Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.