We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Hotel and a Little Worn, but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3303 Troup Highway, Tyler, TX 75701 (Formerly Residence Inn Tyler)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 25%
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Tyler
Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Dated Hotel and a Little Worn, but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is a little worn. You feel like you are in your grandparents old house and none of the stuff has been updated. Cabinets were dark, old and worn. It just feels like you are in a very low end apartment.

The room was clean for the most part. One "chunk" of something in the tub.

The thermostat was broken and held together with scotch tape.

The grounds were clean and well kept and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

The hotel is in a good central location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    28
    19
    15
See reviews for
60
18
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying here a couple of times and always enjoyed the accommodations and perks of this establishment.
First was for work interview,
Second was due to an apartment fire, stayed a month and they made it feel like home as much as they could.
The staff was always helpful and courteous and made the best of some hard times in Tyler.
Great breakfast and Happy Hour get togethers
Rooms are nice and housekeeping does a great job of keeping them that way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband had a long term work assignment and was placed in this hotel. I will begin by saying I am a very picky person when it comes to hotel cleanliness. I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The room was very clean, the linens nice, the bed was ok, the floors clean, and a kitchen nicely stocked for cooking. The only down side was there was only wired Internet access in the room with Wi-Fi available in the lobby. I was informed the owners are working on a plan to get wireless in the guest rooms. The laundry room was nice with a nice tv to watch if you wanted to stay there. The pool was adequate. There was also a tennis court next to the pool. My husband and I are avid exercisers and were pleased to know we were given access to a hospital's gym only 5 minutes down the road. Very nice place with a variety of equipment and classes if you wanted to participate. The hotel breakfast was nice and happy hour during the week was a nice bonus. If we were to return to Tyler for another long-term assignment we would definitely choose this hotel. I would recommend asking for a room facing the courtyard area. That is where we were located and it was exceptionally quiet, but I can see how rooms closer to the highway might be a bit noisy unless you turned the a/c fan to the "on" position to drown it out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard area would be the quiter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Decent 3. No bugs. Very dated. Lots of repairs needed. Not bad if you need a place to stay with pets.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very comfortable motel/hotel to stay while visiting Tyler. Quiet, clean and very accomidating....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We've been staying at this location for the last month and they really take the pain out of having to be away from home. The breakfasts are awesome, the staff has all been friendly and very helpful, and Bobby in the Lobby with his evening "Social Hour" Monday thru Thursday is about as good as it gets.

Our room is spacious, and although not quite a suite, it is plenty big enough for two of us to work in the room and still have space left over.

We have access to the Hospital Exercise facility, only 5 minutes from the Inn, and it truly is a great facility. Plenty of machines and a TV on each.

I highly recomment this location if you're going to have an extended stay in East Texas!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms; one has a better space for two to work than the other, but either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

if you have a choice, stay at the nearby Courtyard-it's a new property, only a 3-mile drive or the Staybridge Suites, about equal distance. It's new as well.
Now onto the review:
1. check-in speed: ridiculously slow. There were 5 ppl in front of me and only one person working (it's 4p and they should anticipate more staffing)
2. asked for a quieter room and what they gave me? Rm 423 right at the intersection of two roads.
3. room: it's just old, period. The wooden steps leading to the second floor are so wobbly that they would break anytime. No wireless WiFi, there is a cord at the desk which doesn't go far rnough to the sofa so I can't sit there and surf at the same time.
4. Bed: too soft, not much lumber support there
The property is not especially cheap compared with others in the area. I'd definitely go somewhere else next time I stay in Tyler.

Room Tip: i don't think there is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Conference Center Tyler
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Tyler
Residence Inn Tyler
#12 of 35 in Tyler
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler

Address: 3303 Troup Highway, Tyler, TX 75701 (Formerly Residence Inn Tyler)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tyler Hotel Tyler
Tyler Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Tyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.