We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and the bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tyler to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tyler
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1601 West Southwest Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701-8533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Dallas
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good and the bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you read my reviews I can't remember ever giving a hotel a "terrible" rating. The reason for the terrible rating is because of the front desk clerk who I think is the manager. She really does not need to be in the hospitality industry. I have dealt with front desk clerks who basically knew nothing about the area but this person's negative response to any question or request is the reason I am giving it such a low review. Her overall negative attitude is poison to this property. I have stayed the last two nights here. The first night the property was full but last night it appears to have less than 1/2 the cars on the parking lot that it had the previous night. I requested a "late" checkout and was told there were "no" late checkouts at this property. I am a Laquinta gold card member which is supposed to give you the benefit of a late checkout. I certainly could understand no late checkout if the property appeared full and there could be difficulty in cleaning the rooms for the next night but it is very obvious it is not. This manager/clerk with the "NO" attitude may be good for the operational management of a hotel but way to offensive to the guest. I have to return here on business and I will not come back. There is a Laquinta in nearby Longview which I will go to.

On the good side this is a well maintained older property. My room has newer carpet and linens. The breakfast is typical for Laquinta and it does have those small individual cartons of milk which I prefer. The landscaping is probably one of the most beautiful I have ever seen at a Laquinta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
47
23
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is a great place to stay with your Pets. Hotel is located centrally to all the stores and attractions. All the Staff was very helpful and the young lady that checked us in was in my opinion top notch and should be rewarded for her great attitude.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean ama comfortable. Not a bad place . The staff was nice., they give you breakfast free . Very close to everything its in a perfect place, to get to everything Shopping, movies etc... The bed is comfortable, the down fall was low channel count .otherwise all was good .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The overall experience was good. The staff was friendly. The food was good. The bathroom and sink area was not cleaned, but once the staff was notified, they went out of their way to accommodate us. The location was good and within distance of all areas of interest during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this location as part of a weekend trip to Tyler for a trip to Silverleaf Resort. The outside of the building is nothing special, but overall it is very clean and well kept. Inside is the same. If you have ever stayed at a La Quinta, this is consistent with all of them. No frills, really. No fridge. A good-sized tv with about 30+ channels. The hotel is in a very good location in relation to restaurants. You're 10 min max from anything you want to do in Tyler.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in town for a regional basketball touney and stayed here four days. The location was great for traveling to and from dining and the gym. The room was clean, sized and furnished well. Staff was more than adequate being knowlegdable and very friendly. The highway noise is moderate, but we rested and slept good. Breakfast was stocked well each morning even with a full facility. I would reccomend staying here for all these reasonds and a great value too! Thanks, LQ Tyler!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Rooms smell like cigarettes. Front desk lady said that's the smell of their air fresheners that Corporate makes the use.

Check in early to air out the room and bring candles and sinus medicine of you have allergies. Filthy smell!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tyler

Address: 1601 West Southwest Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701-8533
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tyler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Tyler Hotel Tyler
Tyler La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.