We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caldwell Zoo

Caldwell Zoo
2203 Martin Luther King Blvd., Tyler, TX 75702
903 593-0121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Tyler
Attraction details
New Caney, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was beautiful, it was so senic unlike the city zoo I am use to seeing. It was not as big as the city zoo but it was worth going to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    71
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Natural, clean environment with lots of variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went to the Caldwell Zoo in Tyler with my daughter and her 17 month old daughter. The zoo is very clean and well kept and has a nice variety of flower and natural plantings. The habitats are natural and sprawling but it wasn't an exhausting walk. You can see the whole zoo in about 3-4 hours if you don't spend too much time reading signs. There are interesting signs about each animal with a few details that are fun to read. Animals are in a setting where they can roam but can still be seen fairly close up. There are 25 cent vending machines that sell food for the ducks and fish. My grand daughter enjoyed feeding them the pellets. The barriers between humans and animals are often mesh fences that allow maximum viewing of the animals. For a smaller city zoo, I was really impressed as they have several giraffes, elephants and other large African animals. The large birds are in the open and there is a small petting area with goats. There is a 'bird house' that scared my grand daughter but it was nice for adults and older children. The zoo was kept up nicely and workers were in many of the exhibits we saw cleaning up after the animals. Even with the maximum clean up, there were some animal odors.. which I suppose are unavoidable in a zoo. The adult admission was $9.99 and I am not sure what the price was for children. A membership is reasonable and there is much to be learned by children from reading about each animal. This was definitely a good zoo experience! We saw someone in a motorized cart moving about the zoo so it seems quite accessible for those who might have a disability.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“pretty cool zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went just to get out of my hotel also I went on the coldest day during the week. The animals were all out for the most part which made me pleasantly surprised. I apparently went on some sort of promotion or something because I got in for free. It would be a cool place for families to go and it's not expensive either.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“surprisingly good zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

what a nice zoo! well kept, clean and easy to get around... at the cafe you can sit in a shady area and watch the elephants, zebra, and giraffes all at the same time...very nice place to spend time with the grand-kids...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, WI
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This zoo was the perfect size and they had an amazing selection of animals. The price was good to get in and there was free parking. I definitely recommend this zoo!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caldwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caldwell Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.