We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Tyler's best place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Windsor Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3393 South SW Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of Tyler's best place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean and comfortable. Nice size room and friendly staff. Beds where very nice and room was really clean . No flat screen tv however the tv was in good shape . The only down fall was a burn in the blanket . And all was overall good the room painted in a light green, and ceiling had been painted with clouds on them , which was a big surprise..but vaule for my dollar and being clean and comfortable I would stay here again .. good job Jerry !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A buddy and I were in Tyler for a recent USTA Sectionals event where all of the USTA sponsored hotels were booked and/or were otherwise charging exceptionally high rates for what 'special' rooms they had left. Tripadvisor to the rescue... -again... Using Tripadvisor I found the Windsor Inn and Suites with exceptionally good reviews and fair room rates, so I decided to give them a try. I'm glad we did. Most of the recent reviews were spot on. This place is very clean, and the owner/manager, Jerry, went out of his way to provide exceptional customer service by providing us an early check in, recommendations on where to eat and even faxing an urgent business document for my roomie for free. Yes, the free breakfast is nothing special, with basics like coffee, juice, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, toast etc., but for a quick carb load it was available and the eating area was clean. The pool is small, but it was clean and the water was maintained (actually saw the pool guy while I was there). All room amenities worked (AC was nice and quiet). Like other reviews, a small, almost insignificant ding for not having fitted sheets, but really was not a big deal for me. I didn't go to confirm it, but at the back of the hotel there appeared to be a covered area with a picnic table and a barbeque grill. Maybe cooking is not your first choice when travelling, but for some it might be a nice change of pace. Overall I'd recommend Windsor Inn and Suites, Tyler without a single hesitation. I know it isn't magic on how a Hotel business should be run, but Hats off to Jerry and his crew for knowing the obvious and doing it right.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly for best room rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We came to Tyler for a conference and the host hotels were sold out. Found the Windsor and thought there had to be a mistake in the place or price. Nice little place. The owner was great and only problem we had is that the iron didn't work. Beds were nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We enjoyed the small pool and the breakfast. Would be great with a fruit option. Not easy to spot, between Hwy155 and Spur 364. * While in Tyler, stop by Andy's Frozen Custard for a sweet treat (about 5 miles from Windsor Inn).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This Inn was my home away from home for 5 weekends. The owner provided me with the same room for every weekend. They give a AARP discount. Wired internet in every room and the wireless in the lobby can be accessed also from your room. Microwave and small fridge. A/C works great. Above average breakfast bar with those make your own waffles. This is not a chain hotel and they strive to make your stay more enjoyable, any problems were taken care of right away. (IE: Phone in room was not working correctly, the owner came down right away and checked it. Swapped in a new phone right away.) Great value here for your $$$.

If I should come to this area again I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this one to my friends or co-workers.

Room Tip: NO Bed Bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

In a town full of overpriced chain hotels and motels, the Windsor stands out both in price and amenities. Not only was it more reasonably priced than similarly-rated properties, it had unique features we found delightful at this price point.

Our first-floor room was equipped with a king bed, 2 nightstands with wall-mounted lights above, loveseat, coffee table, desk and chair, space for a suitcase, refrigerator & microwave and other items. The room was quite large and had several mirrors, including a full-length one on the closet. There were plenty of outlets for our electronic gadgetry, and the wifi signal was strong in our room (about halfway back from the lobby).

The room was very clean, almost like new. There was a large granite vanity outside of the commode / bath area, with a nicely framed mirror above. The bath area was lined in granite, but there was no soap shelf other than the edge of the tub. The shower head was nearly new and functioned well. But while the tub had anti-slip strips, it was still very slick. It's a good thing there was a grab bar.

The turquoise-colored sheets were a nice surprise and the king bed was very comfortable, save for the fact that the bottom sheet was not fitted, and came loose overnight. Oddly, there was no mattress pad or protector underneath. We heard noises from people walking in the room above us, but these were intermittent and didn't affect our sleep.

An unexpected pleasure in the room: the ceiling was painted with a cloud pattern. It would have been better if the bedspread and window coverings had gone along with the theme.

The sign outside said there was a hot breakfast, but this depends on your definition of food. The hot items were the usual waffle and steam containers with soft hash brown patties, inedible rubbery egg discs and so-so sausage. There were also various continental breakfast items and cereal, plus juice and coffee...but no decaf. The creamers were 2 varieties of flavored creamers in pump bottles...not a bad choice.

All in all, the Windsor is a good value for the money...but don't expect a real "hot" breakfast.

Room Tip: Since the motel is perpendicular to a relatively busy road, it's likely the rooms farther away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tyler hotels
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Tyler
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Southpark Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Conference Center Tyler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tyler
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tyler
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn & Suites

Address: 3393 South SW Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tyler
#9 Family Hotel in Tyler
#10 Business Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Tyler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.