We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montez

Villa Montez
3324 Old Henderson Hwy, Tyler, TX 75711
(903) 592-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 295 Restaurants in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Latin, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Austin, TX, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“SURPRISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A dinner here was such a surprise. Who would have thought we would find such delicious and interesting food PLUS great atmosphere in a small town in East Texas! We sat outside this lovely stone mansion, under large trees with nighttime twinkling lights. All the food we tried was amazingly good, the staff was attentive and the prices reasonable. We began with a variety of starters and then each had a main course which we all tasted. A coconut soup was to die for! Definitely a keeper!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Surprising Latin Fusion Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is an unexpected delight in a town the size of Tyler: a stone mansion, converted into a gourmet Latin restaurant. The food is inspired, flavorful, and beautifully presented. The wait staff is very well trained and quite vigilant, and while preparation times are a bit long, the meals are worth it. Plus, you have an array of unusual and tasty appetizers to tide you over.

The views from the dining rooms are lovely, with wooded hillsides offsetting the nearby main street, and there is a multi-level patio for those times when you would like to dine al fresco.

Combining Central, South, and North American versions of Latin cuisine into a fresh, enticing menu, and offering a full bar with a great beer menu from the Americas (where else in small-city Texas can you get a Xingu brazilian black lager?), this restaurant is a great place for a high-end business meal or an intimate date.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellant food and Service in a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Villa Montez is a lovely spot both inside and for outside dinning when the weather is right. It was a bit cool when we dined so we were inside and were well served by Aaron. Our party had four different meals and were very pleased with them all. We followed up with their chocolate cake which was lucious and to much for the 4 of us to finish. I would say this is very upscale Mexican food, maybe more of a California Mexican?
When I lived in Tyler this was one of my favorite places, I was so glad it is still great. We will return on our next trip to Tyler - would not miss it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayou Vista, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a delightful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We happened on this lovely spot for lunch Sunday. Food was fantastic and beautifully presented. It was difficult for us to settle one one menu item each - such marvelous choices! Food was great but the watermelon, jalapeño margarita was over the top smooth. This restaurant alone is a reason to visit Tyler.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkins, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner, nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hostess who took us to our table at 6:30 told us we needed to be finished by 8:00 because they had a large party coming in---a less-than-stellar introduction to this once-well-reviewed restaurant. We are not wine-drinkers but decided to get a bottle of wine for our anniversary, and the server gave us some information about the wine selection, but really was not too enthusiastic about it. When the food (appetizers) we ordered arrived, it looked okay, but the portions were tiny and it was only so-so in taste. Our entrees arrived and we both noted a general blandness, almost as if the chef was a little too timid to actually season the food properly. It was underwhelming. I think if they had a more aggressive chef, the food could be very good. Seems they are still existing on the reputation of the former restaurant/chef. Overall, too expensive for what we got, and left us feeling quite disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Montez also viewed

 

Been to Villa Montez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.