We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley's Bar B Q” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q

Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q
525 S Beckham Ave, Tyler, TX 75702
903-593-0311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 265 Restaurants in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Stanley's is the oldest operating mom and pop BBQ joint in Tyler, serving up true, pit smoked BBQ for over 50 years. Come try our perfect brisket, baby back ribs, turkey, fresh sausage, and pulled pork in a fun and family friendly atmosphere! Stanley's offers some other selections such as fish tacos and even has vegetarian items. Also be sure to try our two most popular sandwiches - The Mother Clucker and Brother-in-law. We have a newly renovated, covered, and enclosed patio where you can catch a great touring band on Friday night. The patio is also now equipped with a full-bar that features Texas spirits, draft beer, and a nice selection of bourbons. We take pride to produce all our barbecue and sides fresh each day, so we occasionally sell out due to heavy and unanticipated guest traffic. Call ahead if you want to make sure we have something you're looking for! We also offer catering services for your next event. Be kind and have fun!
Mena, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stanley's Bar B Q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I accidently stumbled on Stanleys on a trip through Tyler Texas. Wow, this has to be one of the best bbq restaurants that I have ever ate in. It is a classic bbq joint, order at the counter and it is brought to you when ready. There is inside and outside covered seating. Outside is great in the fall or spring but summer in Tyler makes this an oven midday. Great restaurant and on that I definately will go back to when in Tyler.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    60
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We've had much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The reviews were a let down. Went their for lunch and totally disappointed. I had ribs which were kinda dry and my wife had the BBQ sandwich with a lot of grizzle Rib Masters is far better

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Addictively, amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On a recent business trip, we happened to pass this unique looking place and decided to stop in and try it out. We ordered ribs with all the sides (potato salad, coleslaw and beans) and took a gamble on the Texas Tacos, made with brisket, for only $1 on special. We went out to the covered deck and found a friendly bartender who told us Shiner Bock drafts were only $2. We ordered a couple and waited for our food to arrive. Minutes later we were looking at mouthwatering plates of yummy smelling food.

The first bite of Texas taco had my mouth doing a happy dance and wondering where these little jewels had been all my life. When I picked up the first rib and the meat almost fell off of it, I knew I was in for the treat of my life.

This seriously was the BEST BBQ I have ever had in my life. Ever! I love living in Denver, but this place almost made me want to move to Tyler, TX.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best brisket ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I love BBQ, and this was some of the best I have had. Get the 4 meat platter, that way u can try most of the meats. Brisket was amazing! Ribs were close to perfection. Sausage and pulled pork were good. The brother in law was perfect. Will be my new fav stop when I am in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is a hole in the wall bar b q jewel. I have been enjoying Stanley's bar bq for about 40 years. Great for takeout.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.