We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the chains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q

Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q
525 S Beckham Ave, Tyler, TX 75702
903-593-0311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 287 Restaurants in Tyler
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Stanley's is the oldest operating mom and pop BBQ joint in Tyler, serving up true, pit smoked BBQ for over 50 years. Come try our perfect brisket, baby back ribs, turkey, fresh sausage, and pulled pork in a fun and family friendly atmosphere! Stanley's offers some other selections such as fish tacos and even has vegetarian items. Also be sure to try our two most popular sandwiches - The Mother Clucker and Brother-in-law. We have a newly renovated, covered, and enclosed patio where you can catch a great touring band on Friday night. The patio is also now equipped with a full-bar that features Texas spirits, draft beer, and a nice selection of bourbons. We take pride to produce all our barbecue and sides fresh each day, so we occasionally sell out due to heavy and unanticipated guest traffic. Call ahead if you want to make sure we have something you're looking for! We also offer catering services for your next event. Be kind and have fun!
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Better than the chains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As is usually the case, the BBQ at the local place is the best in town. The Brother-in-law is my favorite sandwich in tyler, regardless of fare. Sides are just ok, but you don't go to a bbq joint for the sides....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    51
    17
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Never Changes - great BBQ every day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wonderful food, great sauce,,,,,,day in, day out. An old establishment with a great reputation. Love the chopped beef sandwiches.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best in TX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Absolutely LOVE this place!!! Fantastic lunch and breakfast. Laid back atmosphere and super friendly staff. I stop in whenever I can. Get there early for lunch though. Im simple...my fave is the chopped beef sandwich, but they are much more well known for there ribs!

Stop in next time ur in Tyler...you will be glad you did.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST BarBQ in Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Award-winning barbecue, and awesome staff. Get there before noon, or there will be no barbecue or room left!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Finger licking good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in on our way back to Austin from Louisiana. Got there at about 12:30 on a Monday afternoon and there was a
line out the door, to me that says darn good BBQ :) I wanted some sliced sausage but they were already sold out so I ordered ribs and brisket. Both fell apart and were really moist. My husband had ordered a large frito pie that was pretty awesome too. A different take on it though with the already added BBQ sauce. Employees were very friendly and stopped by the table to make sure we were enjoying our meal and to chat a bit. Next time we are in the area we will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley's Famous Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.