We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3247 West Gentry Pkwy, Tyler, TX 75702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The rooms were fairly spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. I liked that you got a firm and a soft pillow for each person. The bathroom was nice, although a bathroom fan would be a plus.

The breakfast was very good, loved the pancake maker!

The pool and pool area were fairly small and there were not enough lounge chairs or towels, but it still served its purpose.

My two complaints, room service forgot me one day and when I called the front desk they made me come down and get fresh towels rather than them bring the towels to me. Hmmm seems backwards! The second was that I saw a rat in the parking lot after checkout (luckily it was after checkout because it would have freeked me out had it been during my stay).

Overall I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE North Tyler E, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
dcaiani

Thank you so much for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to be a a welcoming hotel with a wonderful staff. We are going through renovations soon and will be taking all feedback into consideration, a bathroom fan is a lovely idea to add to that for circulation. We will be updating the pool area as well as most of the hotel. We apologize about having to come get your towels, we are not a full service hotel so sometimes it is hard to leave the front desk if there is someone there, next time just ask them to bring them to you as soon as they get a chance and usually won't be a problem at all. Sorry you saw one of the pesky critters that lives outside, the hotel is by some wooded area so those guys do live around the woods, but we assure you they are not in the hotel. We hope you will come see us again and we really appreciate all the lovely feedback. Have a great day!

All my best,
Josh Carpenter @ Holiday Inn Express North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
10
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had reserved 2 rooms with 2 queen beds, when we got there the only had kings left so we had to get roll away. Really needs update, furniture very worn, beds were lumpy, cracks in sinks. For the price paid and staying at Holiday inn express a lot this one is rough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Robert S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The lady who checked us in this great. My room was good size, fairly comfortable. The only complaint about the room was the arms of the desk chair had their outer covering worn completely out. But the exercise room was a joke. It looks like you could hurt yourself easier on the equipment there than exercise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We drove 2 and a half hours to watch our high school football team play in Tyler. We decided to stay the night after we heard Lindale was having a Fall Festival. Walked in and had my room key in record time. The room temp. Was set at 74. The wife slept like a baby and almost missed the good breakfast. Room had a 50 inch HDTV, memory foam mattress and the different firmness pillows. Place was quite and clean

Room Tip: stayed on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hevin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear mjkfarm,
We really appreciate you staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Tyler North. We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again very soon! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I travel to different parts of the country on a weekly basis and mostly stay at Holiday Inn Express. I have come to rely on a generally pleasant and comfortable stay. Every once in a while one stands out above the others. This Holiday Inn is one of those. The room was large and comfortable with lots of lighting which makes doing daily reports that much easier. The bed had a new memory foam mattress which gave me a whole new experience in sleep comfort. The complimentary breakfast that Holiday Inn provides is always a welcome bonus. They could have had a larger selection of muffins but who is complaining? The thing that made this stay special had a lot to do with the staff who were all terrific. A young man by the name of Nevin was the desk manager on a few of the nights I stayed at the hotel. He was thoroughly helpful and charming and it would be really nice if more hotel employees were as professional as this young man. I would certainly stay here again and recommend this Holiday Inn Express highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hevin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear ottovanv,
Thank you very much for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Tyler North. We appreciate the compliments on our staff. We take pride in striving for 110% customer service. We hope you will come stay with us again soon. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room was immaculate (priority # 1). Furthermore, the room we had (a suite) had a 50" HDTV! I've never seen such a large TV in a hotel... The mattress was a memory foam mattress, and my wife said she loved the pillows. The bathroom is a bit outdated and lacks the granite counters that you might have come to expect from other Holiday Inns, but again, I'd rather have an immaculate room with a 50" TV and memory foam mattress than an updated room lacking in any of the aforementioned items.

Staff is friendly, breakfast was plentiful, and seating was adequate (sometimes an issue with other hotels). Parking lot is well lit and secure. Staff gave a great recommendation for dinner (Mercado's). I would definitely consider staying here again. Despite the lack of updates, this is an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hevin M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Adoniram,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Tyler North. We want to stand out over our competitors and have used the Large Flat Screen TV's and New Memory Foam Mattresses as the first step to succeed in that. We are in the plans to do more updating this spring to include the bathrooms and hope you will come stay with us again soon. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Sister and I stayed here recently as it was close to medical facility where she was having a procedure. The hotel was clean and rooms a nice size. Check in was easy enough but upon check out there was no one to be found just a sign saying they'd be back. We didn't make breakfast so won't comment there. The bed was very comfortable and I slept find although sister didn't sleep at all because of nearby train sounds. The bathroom had the very bare necessities of soap, shampoo and conditioner and a coffee maker. There was also a small fridge in the room which was nice to keep our drinks in. All in all I probably would choose a different location next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Illusionsphotog,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is delightful to know that our rooms were of comfort for your needs. However, I am sorry that the noise levels were a dissatisfaction and also my apologies that your check out experience was sub standard. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We will use your comments to enhance our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 3247 West Gentry Pkwy, Tyler, TX 75702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tyler offers 67 interior corridor guest rooms.Come experience the warm and friendly atmosphere of the Holiday Inn Express in North Tyler, Texas. Flying in to Tyler Pounds Airport? Give us a call at least 24 hrs in advance and pre-book your ride. Our complimentary airport shuttle service runs from 7 AM to 10 PM and we'd be happy to pick you up. We're just minutes away from Caldwell Zoo, Tiger Refuge Park, and the beautiful Tyler Rose Gardens. We are also convenient to the University of Texas at Tyler Medical Center and Mother Frances Hospital.Our free deluxe breakfast serves hot items to get your day started. Check out our web site and take a look at the cinnamon rolls. Can't you just smell 'em? Stay on track with your fitness regime by working up a sweat in our fitness center. Feel like you are at home in one of our business suites or relax in our Jacuzzi suite. All rooms feature free high speed Internet along with a mini fridge and microwave, full size iron board and steam iron and color TV with free HBO. Our apologies, but no pets are allowed. Must be 21 years of age unless active military. Pool and hot tub closed until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tyler
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Tyler
Tyler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.