We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2759 McDonald Rd, Tyler, TX 75701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Tyler
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights on a business trip. My girlfriend came along, and stayed at the hotel during the day. Was very nice and safe, with a very pleasant demographic of business people and families staying there. The facilities were great - decent indoor pool, beautiful patio with BBQs and an outdoor TV. Rooms were nice and new with lots of space and everything you need for an extended stay.

Hotel staff was great - very friendly and helpful. They even remembered my name after the first day or two.

Would highly recommend staying here.

Only downside is that there isn't anything within walking distance, so a car is a MUST. For most people, this won't be a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Staybridge Suites around.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
9
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The halls and rooms had better sound barrier. The floor in my room shook when kids ran up and down the halls and when the room doors close by were allowed to slam,

This hotel is immaculate though; it is just like an efficiency apartment. The noise in the hallways with kids hollering and running up and down was inconvenient when I was trying to work and be on a conference call in my room, and also I was woken up at 1:45 a.m with kids running, laughing and hollering and room doors slamming. After 45 minute of intermittent loud noise I finally called the front desk. They took care of it. I will say though it was a Friday - Saturday stay for me and there were families traveling.

There are many great common areas, indoor pool and jacuzzi. FREE on-site laundry. They do require you use high efficiency detergent though which is $2.50 a package and will do 2 loads. Workout room is one of the better one's I have seen. There are games and DVDs available for free check out.

Outside has a great common area with gas grills, fireplace and television, Gazebo for quiet conversation and fountain as a great centerpiece for it all.

Things to note: Free breakfast and Monday - Thursday evening mixer to keep you out of your rooms, light housekeeping if you are staying less than a week (unless requested) NO housekeeping on the weekends except for the rooms that need turned over for new customers.

Full size coffeemaker, fridge with ice-maker, cook top, microwave, dishes and dishwasher bring your favorite food or pick up microwave meal from the pantry in the lobby.

Final note: Management could assure staff is better trained and feel confident. Staff seemed frazzled, uncertain of themselves and kept repeating it was crazy because they were fully booked. They also kept apologizing, but there wasn't really anything to apologize about.

There was only one other customer checking in when I checked in and all of the rooms had already been assigned with keys made. All they had to do was grab the appropriate paper, swipe your card and input your info. My info was already in since I made the reservation through my rewards account. It made things feel unnecessarily stressful with no reason for it.

Room Tip: I would say stay on the top floor on one of the far ends if possible. The floor would shake in my r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We will work to get the issues taken care of.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

A very nice property! The room was immaculate; in fact, the entire grounds were exceptionally well-maintained. Staff is most helpful and friendly. We especially enjoyed the evening snacks and beverages, a relaxing end to a hectic business trip. Highly revommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Staybridge Suites around.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was great. Quiet, clean and very helpful staff. Highly recommend and will come back soon!
I do have a couple recommendations for hotel: Add more kid-friendly movies and a more balanced food selection for the midweek reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Staybridge Suites around.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Perfect stay! Couldn't think of anything I'd change. They pretty much thought of everything. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, kithen area with ice maker in refrigerator. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Staybridge Suites around.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night. No negatives to report. Was upgraded to a two bedroom suite. Would have been perfect for a family of floor. Room was very clean and well appointed. Numerous dining locations within a ten minute drive. This has definitely become my favorite Tyler hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Tyler and for your review. We take pride in taking care of our guests and hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From check in to check out, each staff member from any department went above and beyond to ensure our stay was pleasant. They fulfilled all our requests with a smile and pleasant attitude. I applaud Jeff and his staff for displaying their "our customer comes first" attitude. I will most definitely stay here again whether for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staytyler, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Staybridge Suites around.

Best Regards,

CK Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area

Address: 2759 McDonald Rd, Tyler, TX 75701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Tyler's newest upscale hotel property located in the University Area next to great shopping and exciting entertainment. We are Tyler's premiere extended-stay hotel property built for both transient and long-term hotel guests. We offer numerous price-inclusive amenities including; complimentary breakfast buffet, free high-speed wireless internet, 24-hr business center, indoor pool/spa, outdoor courtyard with bbq pavilion, great room, fitness center, laundry room with free washers and dryers, premium cable, evening socials, guest library/den. Meetings, conferences and classes welcomed in our vista meeting room. Spaciously appointed and modern suites built to make your stay relaxed and comfortable - just like home. All rooms come equipped with a full-size kitchen, work area with spacious desk and ergonomic chair, living area with sofa and connecting chaise lounge with multi-use ottomans, and a vanity with closet along with a separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Tyler University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.