We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Tyler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Tyler to your Saves list
Courtyard Tyler
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7424 South Broadway Avenue, Tyler, TX 75703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Tyler
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Ok, after reading the reviews I was tentative about my stay here even after a nice stay last year. Turns out my stay was great. I got a free upgrade with Silver status, the room was large and clean. The beds were really comfortable and the shower was great. We were one room away from the elevators and did not hear a thing. There were painting crews all over the second floor but no issue for us. FYI - we used Marriott points to book this room.

There WAS free coffee in the lobby that I really enjoyed, glad the ownership put that back in place. The Starbucks coffee was great for my wife and daughter and the lady behind the counter even offered to help me take the cups back to my room.

Not sure why people have had issues with the staff. My approach whether staying at the Ritz or Motel 6 is always check in with a smile and something nice to say and 100% of the time I have had a good experience including the Courtyard by Marriott in Tyler, TX.

Room Tip: Smile and be nice when you check in, I always seem to have great experiences where others have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rick6927,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us! We are glad to hear that your family had a great stay & glad to hear you're a returning guest as well! We do currently have a few areas that we are remodeling the hotel for the better to improve our valued guests stays with us and thank you for your patience with us during the process.
We do still offer the Starbucks coffee as well as the complimentary coffee & water located in the lobby by the business center. We'll be sure to share your feedback with our staff and thanks for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member with us...we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    36
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
44
24
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Okay I was scared to stay here after reading all the poor reviews, but everything else in Tyler was sold out. It is quite a nice hotel. Granted the staff could use better management, but all in all I had a good stay.
I think most people are expecting free coffee and breakfast these days, so it would behoove this hotel to at least offer the free coffee at $189 a night.
I paid for coffee each morning and the MOST irritating issue was the Starbucks closed at 9:30 AM. WTH??? If I have to pay for it, you should stay open all morning....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Extensive Travels,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us - we appreciate the comments!
While we do have Starbucks coffee available for purchase in our Bistro, we also have free coffee & water in the lobby for all of our guests. On your next stay with us - please feel free to ask Front Desk to point you in the right direction of the free coffee located by the business center in the lobby. We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us & we hope to see you on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Attractive new facility. Room was huge. Close to several restaurants. Exercise facility was meager. Because of too few guests, had run out of in-room coffee. With attention to upkeep, such as repairing the bathroom door, it will be a first class hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear T L,

Thanks for your review! We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to have our Housekeeping & Chief Engineer look at the bathroom door to correct the issue. We hope to see you on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I like the Courtyard by Marriott. Our room as nice but lacked water pressure in the shower but the disappointment came in the morning. You use to get free Starbucks coffee in the lobby but I was told they stopped, what? It's the small things that make a stay most chain can deliver a clean room but sometimes it is the little things that make a stay nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear mfiegel,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us! We will be sure to have our Chief Engineer look at the water pressure with the shower. We do have Starbucks available to our guests, but also have free coffee in the lobby. It's located by the business center in the middle of the lobby - on your next stay, please feel free to ask Front Desk where it's located so you can be sure to get you a cup of coffee! Thank you again for your feedback - we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Got in late they had given our room away. Did notify do to airport problems reason for late arrival. To them let's look ..oh here. Breakfast no good morning happy see ya just want can I get ya! Leaving no goodbye have a safe one. It was the most unfriendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Eileen A,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive the warm & friendly Texas hospitality you expect to receive. We appreciate your feedback and can assure you this has been addressed with our staff as providing excellent customer service is our goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The sleeping rooms were nice - clean, quiet, comfortable. But the hospitality was lacking. I was not greeted with any kind of "hello" or "how was your trip?" and once I got my key, the agent looked at me with a blank stare. The rest of the time, there was no one at the front desk any time I went by there. I always had to knock on the office door or go find someone. My meeting set up did not happen as promised. Apparently the person who was supposed to do this never came in. To their credit, all the staff - about 3 people - scrambled and took care of things. But I never saw anyone for the rest of the day. The food was catered from the outside and our special requests had been ignored. We froze, too, even though we asked for a change in air conditioning repeatedly. Plus there was no soap in the bathrooms! I'd never have another meeting of any size there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Maggi M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent event & stay with us! Providing excellent customer service is a top priority for us and want to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that this was not the case in your stay and have communicated the issues with our staff members. Without your feedback, we wouldn't have the opportunity to improve our guests overall satisfaction and experience - thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a nice hotel that is good for family, individual or business travel. It is not in the busiest parts of Tyler, which makes it easy to access. It is off a main road which is quick to get to anywhere in Tyler, and making it very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardTylerSales, Director of Sales at Courtyard Tyler, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Tina S,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location was perfect for you. Stop by & see us on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Tyler

Address: 7424 South Broadway Avenue, Tyler, TX 75703
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Tyler 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of Highway 69, the new Courtyard by Marriott Tyler will make your stay in Texas both productive and pleasant. This spectacular four-story hotel features the new state of the art lobby that enable guests with greater flexibility and choices that allows them to both, work and relax using our free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news and weather with the help of the GoBoard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Tyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.