We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cajun Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Catz - CLOSED

Fat Catz
3320 Troup Hwy, Tyler, TX 75701
(903) 593-1114
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

However, seafood gumbo had great taste , but no crab or seafood evident except 3 shrimp... Would rate 3

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Goof Food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was there on a Mon evening with a group of friends. We each had a different dish and ALL of them were good! Service was attentive. We had a great time. We'll be back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Happy, happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decided we wanted to try something different in Tyler and since I'd met the chef a couple of times and never eaten there, it seemed like the perfect opportunity.

Wow, did we choose well! Started off with $1 Shiner draft special (can't beat that) and then ordered a try of oysters on the halfshell. Delicious, perfectly sized with fabulous flavor. The thing I like the BEST was that in addition to the cocktail sauce, Fat Catz provided EXTRA horseradish and lemon on the side (didn't have to ask). It was as though they read our minds as we both enjoy the sauce a bit spicier than most places serve.

I ordered a combo meal with fried oysters (hey, if they were that good raw, what could it hurt) and stuffed shrimp. The shrimp was quite good, but again, the oysters were above expectations. That kitchen absolutely knows how to do it....lite, tender, a little crunch, but mostly just flavor!

Hubby ordered a fish dish which he loved.

The server was very nice and had a great attutide (getter rarer these days).

Wish I was going back tonight.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Wheeler, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great for when you want something above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

we went her for my dads birthday, he loves cajun food, especially cajun seafood. it was great food and worth the price, and the wait staff was terrific!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visited on a Saturday night a few weeks ago. The menu was not the menu posted on the restaurant's website. Crabcake appetizer was fairly good. Steak entree was poor at best, thin, tough, and not very tasty. Seemed it was what used to good grade and now called select. Seafood entree was mediocre. However, the server was excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Catz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.