We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here when you visit Tyler” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tyler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tyler to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tyler
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3130 Troup Hwy., Tyler, TX 75701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend 2X Points
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Tyler
Austin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't stay here when you visit Tyler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is tired and the staff is tired of working there. I imagine this was once a nice hotel and well located, but Tyler has grown so much and there are now lots of hotel options and I would bet that most of them would be better than this one. The prices wasn't that great and the customer service was poor. The property needs some major updates. Not at all the nice little place it once was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I do want to apologize for any problems you may have had during your stay. We do strive each day to provide the best service possible. I do hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    21
    17
    17
See reviews for
42
25
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lindale
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice clean room, friendly staff, nice pool, and a good night of rest. I must say, the salt water pool was my favorite bit! And the hotel manager was just sweet as could be. I felt like one of the family. What more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments we look forward to seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My business sent me in to Tyler after 2 flights and a long layover i was happy to get to the hotel. I have stayed in many hotels but have never got such a nasty room that I changed hotels with in hours of checking in and paid out of my own pocket. I will never stay at this hotel again I wish there was other Hampton in Tyler to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay with us was not up to your standards. We do strive each and every day to provide the best service possible. Thank you so much for your comments this input will help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This Hampton is Very Good, not Great. Outside entry Hamptons are inherently less nice than the others. Tack on that this one is in Tyler, TX and I stayed a day it got up to 104º. The A/C was running constantly so one side of the room was frozen while the other (at the desk) where I was trying to work was uncomfortably hot. The bed, the desk, the shower, and computer accessories (power plug, ethernet, etc.) could all use an update. The TV was fine until it wasn't, it went out for about 20 minutes in the late afternoon. But the rest of my experience would be what I consider the high Hampton standard I've come to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments we do want imput from all our customers so we can continue to improve our service for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were surprised to see this facility's rooms opened onto parking lot rather than interior hallways we are accustomed to at other wonderful Hampton Inns. The front desk staff seemed more interested in their phones or computer. No one was rude - again, just not the usual Hampton friendliness. My room's door appeared to have been dented(?) On outside and paint was scraped off by handle. Inside the security lock was loose - looked as if someone had tried to force the door open. We love Hampton's comfy beds but our mattress was not the same. It felt like an older spring mattress with padding.
Room was clean and the housekeeping staff delightful. Breakfast yummy , too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, This input helps us to correct and or change to improve our customers experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you have to travel to Tyler, TX - check out the Hampton Inn near East Texas Medical Center...close proximity to the medical center and wonderful accommodations! Breakfast was quick and easy - good, too. And, the snack bags really helped our long days at the hospital.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is the only Hampton I have stayed at with doors to the outside but this is not a negative factor. The rooms are exactly like the other Hampton Hotels, clean and very nice. The management is very friendly and helpful. There was a bit of noise outside early Saturday morning but had nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyschoolfield, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tyler, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, We look forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tyler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tyler

Address: 3130 Troup Hwy., Tyler, TX 75701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tyler
#11 Business Hotel in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tyler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Tyler hotel is located on the southeast corner of Tyler, TX, minutes from the Tyler Rose Garden. Start your day with a free hot breakfast featuring our famous waffles every morning or grab Hampton's On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Mon-Fri). Enjoy free high-speed internet access in every room, get caught up on work in our 24-hour business center or keep up your workouts in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tyler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tyler Hotel Tyler
Tyler Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tyler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.