We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2421 E SE Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Tyler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cornelius, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best customer service experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I just finished a stay at this hotel for a business trip. The check in was smooth, rooms were clean and breakfast was very good. But after I checked out from the hotel, I had the best customer service experience I've ever encountered. On my way to the airport I was notified by an employee named Taylor that I had left my bag in the room. I was so pressed for time I couldn't possibly return to get the bag and make my flight. Taylor arranged a courtesy drop of the bag for me at the airport. I've never been so impressed by out of the way customer service. This hotel deserves your stay for their service alone (not to mention other positive mentions above). Thanks again to the great staff!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear rtw000,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the rooms to check-in process and breakfast and of course, the customer service! We strive to provide the best customer service to all of our guests and are happy to hear that you received nothing less! We will be sure to pass on the feedback to Taylor and we hope to see you on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
11
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palestine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed Valentine's night and were looking forward to the Jacuzzi tub in our room. The tub looked as if it needed cleaning (jets were pretty grimy looking), so we sprayed it with some cleaner we bought and ran the jets for a while. After some scrubbing, it was worth it, because it was great. Unfortunately, that was the only good part of the stay. Our bedspread had a spot on it that was so pungent that I could smell it just sitting close to it, so it came off the bed. At one point I called downstairs to see if they had plasticware and while the girl at the front desk confirmed that they did, she did not offer to bring it to the room (I guess I am just use to the good ole days of extraordinary customer service). I don't think we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Felicia C,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Providing excellent customer service is our goal and we apologize for the experience you had with your guest room. We have addressed the cleanliness issue & customer service experience with our staff. We will be working closely with the housekeeping department to ensure the cleaning procedures are up to brand standards. We would like the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future. Should you have any questions, please contact management directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thicket, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We were told by the manager that our rooms would be ready upon arrival. At 5:00 p.m.they are still not ready. I will never stay here again. I would advise the same. The desk clerks seem unconcerned. Other groups walked right in at got a room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear TexasHunter270,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We are glad you like our convenient location. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I'll give it 7 stars out of 5!

We travel to Tyler to see our daughter (at college) several times during the year and at times are joined by Gramma & Grampa too. Quite honestly there are several hotels to choose from on the south loop area....some good....some so-so....some just nasty. For me (the dad) - AC, big TV, hot shower, and bed (in that order) is all I need....Don't care about paint, carpet, or smell of the hallway. HOWEVER.....for the wife - the initial smell of the lobby, the recent vacuum marks in the hall, the fresh smell and cleanliness of the room, the non-dingy sheets/comforter, capped off by a CLEAN bathroom with no "grunge" in the tub is what the wife rates/judges/deems worthy of "stay"......and when I hear the words uttered by the wife......in a low monotone voice - "it's nice".....it is then and ONLY then that I can DROP the bags! ...........AND TO ALL YOU MARRIED MEN - I know I am not alone on that either!

All joking (yet a little serious) aside - great hotel, great location, and the front desk staff (I wish I could remember her name - got me hooked up with the reward card) .....well, lets just say she was GREAT and the check-in/check-out was PAINLESS. WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Get in on the rewards club gig - you can get an earlier check-in and can get a later check-out if ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear 12Barney,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us!
We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on the comments to each department. We strive to provide the best stay and experience for each guest and definitely recommend the IHG Rewards program to all of our guests...it is a great Rewards program with awesome benefits! Thank you again and good luck to your daughter in college! We are looking forward to your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were greeted upon entry, checked in quickly, and told about a discount on meals at the Texas Roadhouse right up the street. The room was large, clean, and cold, which is perfect in steamy Texas heat. It was so cold that we even had to turn the AC down! Not only were these things good and welcoming, but there were fresh cookies in the lobby, and we were given bottles of water and peanut-butter crackers when we checked in.

When we returned to our room after a late night of concerts, the huge Jacuzzi tub was lovely to fill up and just relax. Wonderful all the way around. Then falling into the bed was heavenly - everything was perfect. It was hard to wake up to the scrumptious breakfast spread awaiting the next morning.

This place does it right. From scrambled eggs and sausage gravy to fresh-made pancakes, fruit, a selection of cereal, various grades of milk, juice, coffee, yogurt, rolls. It's almost more than you can imagine! And, it's all you can eat, too!

If we ever have a need to stay over in Tyler again, you can bet this is where we'll stay!

Room Tip: The spa room was fab.u.lous. Choose it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear DTPegasus,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express South! We are so pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay including the plentiful options at breakfast, guest rooms, and the quick check-in. We strive to be sure that each guest has the best experience and we are looking forward to your next stay in Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

It is one if better and brighter holiday inns. Rooms are HI quality and they are clean. Breakfast isn't greatest one but....it is HI.
Location is OK, nice pool, exercise room and sauna.
I was happy to stay and would recommend this ace to anyone.
In the end of the day...it's Tyler, TX and this is one of the better places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear road_warrior_1970,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our IHG Owner & General Manager conference is at the end of this month and they should be rolling out a few new breakfast items at the conference, so be on the lookout for a few new & exciting options for breakfast! We would be happy to hear any feedback or suggestions you may have on how we could improve our breakfast for our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact management directly to express these suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed at this Holiday many times in the past and have not had anything but good service. This time however wasn't so good. What I learned was I really needed to verify that notes were put on my reservation as I was assured they would be.

I requested a first floor room if possible, the person taking the reservation assured me he would make the note on the reservation. By the way I spoke directly to the Hotel Clerk for the reservation. I not only did not get a first floor room I got a room on the 3rd floor that was the fartherest room from the elevator. I checked with the desk to see what happened and that's right there were no notes on my reservation. Since this was a one night stay it wasn't worth a move.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpTyler, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lawrence D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are disappointed to know that you didn't experience the great customer service you are accustomed to receiving on this past stay. Please be assured that we do take every guests' request seriously and do our absolute best to accommodate each and every request our guests make. We will be sure to communicate this to the front desk staff to ensure all guests requests are being noted in the reservations. We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Express South and we hope to see you on your next trip to Tyler!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South

Address: 2421 E SE Loop 323, Tyler, TX 75701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Tyler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Tyler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tyler South.Our award-winning hotel near the University of Texas-Tyler is within minutes of the Tyler Pounds Regional Airport and downtown Tyler. The Holiday Inn Express South provides easy access to major Tyler attractions and businesses.Leisure guests will find that our East Texas hotel near Tyler State Park and the Discovery Science Place is the perfect place to stay. Less than five miles from our exceptional accommodations, visitors can observe wildlife at the Caldwell Zoo, tour the historic McClendon House, attend a concert at the Cowan Center or visit the Tyler Municipal Rose Gardens.Convenient for business travelers, our premier lodging is near corporate offices such as Sandrill Inc., Delek Refining Ltd., Suddenlink, Trane and CB & I Howe-Baker. The Harvey Hall Convention Center is located two miles from our Tyler accommodations. Tyler Junior College, Trinity Mother Francis and East Texas Medical Center are also nearby. Additionally, we provide free high-speed, wireless and wired Internet access for your convenience.While lodging in Tyler, Texas, be sure to enjoy our smoke-free hotel's choice amenities. We have a complimentary hot breakfast bar and an indoor pool with a whirlpool and sauna. Our Tyler hotel also has a well-equipped fitness center, convenience store and newsstand, a shoe-shine station and self-laundry services. We hope you will stay at our award winning property during your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South Hotel Tyler
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Tyler South
Tyler Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tyler South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.