We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abilene State Park

Abilene State Park
150 Park Road 32, Tuscola, TX 79562
325-572-3204
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Tuscola
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The gate staff was super, answered all questions. The sites were very large and private, awesome trail systems, wonderfully clean restrooms, great showers, good water, lots of shad e, volenteers were really nice and helpful. The lake and most creeks were dry or going dry, thd lake looked like nothi g but and large mud pit. Water doesnt even reach the botton of the dam. Wildlife was super abundant, deer, birds, squirrels, raccoons, signs of wild hogs(not good). Enjoyed the local sightseeing and museums.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good spot to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed on night in our class C RV on our way to somewhere else. Good site lots of trees not noisy at all. Full hook ups too. We enjoyed our brief stay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love this park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a pretty good park to camp. The bathrooms are very nice and clean. The pool is a salt water pool. It does become very crowded quick. The pool hours are 11am-3:30pm so get there early! The only drawback is the treatment center that is close by to the tent camp site. It continually makes a "hum" noise ALL the time. Very distracting when your trying to enjoy a campfire or sleep. Lots of racoons and deer. Overall good place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a happy camper!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

people at the gate are very rude and weren't at all nice or helpful to our family. We've had our family reunion there for over 30 years and this year they wouldn't even give the group discount even though we've always had a large group. Also I told them I had a family member who was disabled and they needed proof of which nothing I had was sufficient - disabled people are supposedly half price but I guess you would need a notorized Dr statement!! So a weekend visit for just my family was $60!!! You have to pay everyday - no weekend passes! The manager was very unwilling to cooperate or help anyone in the least, it was like she enjoyed being rude!! Hopefully if we ever go back she and the rude people will be gone!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, and near a charming town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Abilene State Park

We loved our stay at this park. It is a wonderful place for quiet and peace in the great outdoors. We found that even when it got busy on the weekend, it was still quiet. Most of the campsites are private with brush and trees on either side of the site. The sites are mostly covered with gravel and the larger ones are level. The small trailer & tent sites do have a bit of a ramp drive going onto a flat pad, so it would be important to call ahead & ask about the best sites for your length of camper.
The lake was dry when we were at the park, so fishing is not possible, BUT bird-watching is terrific. We saw two woodpeckers and heard so many birdsongs. It was wonderful.
The other wonderful thing about this campground is that it is so close up the very charming town of Buffalo Gap which has antique shops, the famous Perini Steakhouse (which we didn't try since we are vegetarians), and a super flea market on the third weekend of the month. This was truly one of the most interesting flea markets we've ever enjoyed -- full of farm animals, what-nots, and amazing farm stands.
The Abilene State Park is very affordable, the bathrooms are older but clean and the showers have nice privacy doors. The park staff were all friendly to us. We can't wait to camp here again! Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abilene State Park also viewed

Been to Abilene State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abilene State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.