We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am new to the area and heard about the big pool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmorhea State Park

Balmorhea State Park
State Hwy 17, Toyahvale, TX 79786
432 375 2370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Toyahvale
Type: State Parks
Activities: Scuba diving, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 48-acre park in the western desert fed by a special underground spring.
Oceanside
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I am new to the area and heard about the big pool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not a lot else to do in the area, this was a big surprise, giant swimming pool over a natural spring....with fish!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Pool and Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had driven past this park many times but never stopped. I imagine it's crazy crowded in summer, but early October was a fine time to visit. I enjoyed swimming in the pool, watching the ducks dive down for fish. I learned about the cienega and San Soloman springs that feed this pool and the 72 degree water was quite comfortable with the ambient air temperature in the 80s. The campground was nice enough, with the tent/water only sites slightly separated from the electric/RV sites. It was very quiet even though almost all the sites were full. I think one day here is enough to enjoy this small park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool place to stop and play.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The park is set up well. The pool is spring fed and HUGE. The water is clear enough to dive if you'd like. I saw many scuba divers doing cert dives. The only fish are a bunch of catfish. There is a large area to have picnics etc. Also, recommend going in the summer when it is still hot as the water is cool.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We spent the day diving and swimming at San Solomon Springs. It was wonderful. It is a nice family place. You bring your picnic lunch, kids, bathing suits, snorkel and spend the day having fun. There are fish and turtles in the clear water and all of the kids around enjoyed watching and swimming with them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family fun!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The spring, fed pool is serious fun for the family! On hot days, it's exactly what is needed. Bring water shoes, snorkeling gear and something to float on. The rooms had cold AC, comfortable beds, I take my own pillows and a nice kitchen. Must bring everything for the kitchen though, nothing to use for cooking nor are there any utensils. Staff was nice but there were a couple of overanxious rangers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balmorhea State Park also viewed

Been to Balmorhea State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmorhea State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balmorhea State Park to your Saves list