We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will go out of our way to get here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Country Cafe

Mel's Country Cafe
24814 Stanolind Rd, Tomball, TX 77375-3170
281-255-6357
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Tomball
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We will go out of our way to get here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our family has been eating at Mel's for 12 years and when we return to Houston on visits we will make the trip to Mel's. Down home comfort food that is consistently very good. Fair prices and generous portions. Burgers and chicken sandwiches but the best has to be huge hickey fried steak or chicken. So tender you don't need your knife. Already looking forward yo our next visit!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    42
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place. Food ? Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I was recommended this place by some locals, so last Sunday we went there. I have to say that the atmosphere is really nice, old style country side cafe`. Apart from that I found nothing special about it; the food quality was not worth it, nothing bad about it, but just average food, with lots of fat and calories.
I was hoping to find something unique or at least worth mentioning, but among 4 people of my group, none was impressed.
I do not hing I will be back unless if some visitor want to see old style country side cafe`.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best onion rings out there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the real deal back road Texas country cafe, tasty home cooking in portions that will make your cardiologist very happy. The Hamburgers are humongous and the onion rings are to die for. Go there really early or be prepared to wait knowing you will be full and happy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you go away hungry, it's your own fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

!st stop at Mel's, while visiting with Basset Buddies Rescue Group that was set up outside.

Service - Friendly and visited often
Atmosphere - basic family cafe, but clean
Food - Very good

I had the fried catfish early afternoon. The size of the portion left me wishing they had a lunch size order on Saturday, but it was crispy and delicious. Accompanied with sides of cole slaw and french fries - the classic all-American meal.

While Mel's may not be a fancy place, the food will have you coming back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Texas Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Mel's is a shining example of the kind of small-town café that you used to be able to find in every town in Texas. Sadly, this part of our culture is dying out, as city folks want "upscale" versions of everything (and is there anything more ridiculous than an "upscale" chicken-fried steak?), and the small towns just don't get by like they used to for whatever reason.

Navel-gazing aside, Mel's is famous for two things: hamburgers and chicken-fried steaks. You certainly can't go wrong with either. But don't be afraid to try the rest of the menu. Someone back there is mighty handy with a grill, and both the sandwiches and salads are creative and well put together. Dressings are house made for the salads, too.

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but the dining room is plain and a bit shabby. Again, typical for the small town that Tomball used to be, and I like the time capsule. Evidence of this area being consumed by the insatiable spread of Houston ever outward, be prepared for a wait during peak times, sometimes a rather long one; it's always crowded.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Country Cafe also viewed

Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.