We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummm....you can't beat Mel's for good Southern Cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Country Cafe

Mel's Country Cafe
24814 Stanolind Rd, Tomball, TX 77375-3170
281-255-6357
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Tomball
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Yummm....you can't beat Mel's for good Southern Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just visited Mel's for the first time -- loved it!

Food was amazing if you love country style cooking. Chicken fried steak, okra, cornbread - all delicious. Good choices for kids too.

We had great service - and my husband and son thought the desserts were the best thing on the menu (hint: Coconut Cream Pie and Banana Pudding - both highly recommended)

The only con for visiting Mel's is that you may have to wait for a table.

If you find yourself in Tomball, TX you can't go wrong with Mel's

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Plenty of good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is not a large or fancy place. But you will find a lot of good food pretty reasonably priced. They are famous for their dressed hamburger that weighs 5 pounnds. There is lots of fanfare when the hamburger is brought to your table. If you manage to eat it all you get your name on the wall with the time it took to finish the burger. I wasn't brave enough to try the burger. I had the fried shrimp and it was very good. This is a popular place so be prepared to wait for a table.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
“If you're looking comfort food, this is it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Comfort food it is. The burgers are delicious, as are the salads. We read from some that the service can be lacking, but wecame in only a few minutes before closing and the waitress was very patient and allowed us to eat without rushinng us. Very affordable too. Family friendly, but almost to casual for a date unless you're trailer trash,LOL. The kids meals are very cheap and with lots of food. We will certainly return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Country burger joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ok will confess that i went about 10 years ago....but i understand not much has changed. This is a burger joint. Burgers were big and good. If you get the big one and finish it in an hour or something you get your name on the wall. Small place, packed at lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You won't leave here hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by some friends. I had the fried catfish and it was
very good. My hubby had the Chicken Fried Steak. He said it was just ok. Their Onion rings are yummy. Their hamburgers are huge and the prices are good. We had enough food left over for the next day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Country Cafe also viewed

Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
Tomball, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.