We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in The Woodlands
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bring earplugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I was in the "5000" block. Paper thin walls. Can hear the people alking in the next room.

Pedestrian food. 1,000 miles to get from the room to the main entrance. Too far from The Woodlands business area to be useful.

It WAS clean, the folks were courteous. But I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. We regret that your expectations were not met. We offer complimentary shuttle service to The Woodlands Town Center should you choose to give us another chance in the future. We will consider your comments as we continually seek to improve our amenities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    161
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
205
102
10
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The furniture is from 1970'S with wood barrel bases and formica tops. For Real!!! The sofa had stains from who knows what. All this for only $169 Per Night. The setting was nice - The room and decor you can keep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you got less than you expected. We offer a variety of sleeping rooms from our Lakeside Lodges to our Fairway Pines building surrounding the Forest Oasis Waterscape. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel, as the rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The room service was excellent as was the service in all the restaurants.
Idea place to for all, 2 excellent golf courses as well as good practice facilities which are free. Excellent spa facilities to use after playing golf, tennis, hiking or cycling.
Excellent shopping malls close by. Greeting and service from all staff members was excellent,

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Checkin was fast and friendly.

Got a room in building close to reception. Asked for a quite room which I was given being located upper floor.

Room was fairly spacious, but has seen its best days.

WIFI worked very being quite fast.

Best part of the stay was the food. Breakfast and lunch was really great !

Problem with this area is that you are stuck middle in nowhere. Basically nothing to do other than to stay within the resort.

Tried the gym being good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a one-night stay for our anniversary. We originally booked a room in the Forest Lake area, but, after reading the reviews about musty-smelling rooms, skylights keeping people awake and dirty grout in the bathrooms, we switched to the newer Fairway Pines area. I'm glad we did, as that area was nice, but seemed a bit dated, even though new. The room was very spacious, and the amenities and bathroom were fine. We also had a nice patio (we were on the ground floor), even if our view of the parking lot and some scrubby foliage left a little to be desired. My only complaint really was that there was no way to turn the light on the patio off, and the blackout curtains in the room did not completely close, so there was a gap with light streaming through all night. This didn't wake me up, but some noise on our patio, which sounded like someone rattling the patio door did, and it was hard to go back to sleep with that light streaming in. We think there was some sort of animal on the patio, and the main reason it made us nervous was that the lock on the patio door did not seem super secure.

We arrived earlier than check-in time because we had an appointment for a couples massage at the spa. We really liked the spa, but it was a little strange getting changed in a room without a lock on the door, and my husband, who is larger, but not large by Texas standards, could barely get his robe to close, even when the woman said he had one of the larger robes. Also, the spa was extremely cold (air conditioning blasting), and the overhead lights in the relaxation area were a bit like interrogation lights. The complimentary wine was a very nice touch, which we appreciated, but the Merlot was ghastly (yes, I know it was complimentary, but, please). The massage was wonderful, and the therapists were very nice and professional, and the room was spacious and romantically lit with (fake) candles (I appreciated the fake candles from a safety standpoint, as there were a lot of them). The people working at the spa were all very friendly and accomodating.

Before our massage, we had a great lunch in the Royal Mile Grille, overlooking the golf course. The host and our waiter were super friendly, and, although the decor was dated, it was very relaxing and pleasant. The nice thing was that it was a very short walk inside to the spa. The walk from Fairway Pines to the Royal Mile Grille was a bit concerning, as there was only the golf course cart path to walk on (no sidewalk), but the signs were pretty good.

After relaxing in our room, we drove to the Woodlands Waterway area for dinner. The resort is very convenient to that area.

The bed was comfortable, except the pillows, which were way too flat.

In the morning, we had breakfast at the buffet, which was very good. The only complaint I had was that the hostess sat us, and while we were up getting our food, they brought our coffee to our table, but as I was going to sit down with my food, the same hostess that had sat us was about to take my chair away and combine our table with another one for a large party. She said "Oh, are you sitting there?" I said, "Yes, you just sat us here 5 minutes ago." A little unprofessional, but not a big deal.

My overall comment is that the resort is extremely relaxing, and you really feel like you are far from Houston, even though you are not. The decor is very dated, but everything is well kept up, at least in the main building and the Fairway Pines building. It definitely feels more like a conference center than a resort, though.

Finally, I have to say that the business center is a total rip off, as is the wireless and internet. We paid $11.50 for 23 minutes of internet access in the business center. Also, I noticed that long-distance calls were $9.50 for the first minute and $1.45 or something per minute after that from the room. This is actually typical for other resort/conference centers I have been at, but I just think it is a ridiculous rip-off, given how much you pay for the room and dining, etc.

But, I would recommend it for a nice, relaxing getaway if you are not looking for super-luxurious, up-to-date accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

All inclusive wonderful wooded natural setting, friendly competent staff, great tennis, great golf, awesome swimming, relaxing spa, fun fitness, bicycle and biking/jogging trails, and dining and sports bars ! I took my husband to The Woodlands Conference Center to escape the hussle and bussle of our busy Houston life--it was a great birthday getaway weekend for us both ! We can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us. We like to think we offer all you need in one spot and it sounds like you enjoyed just that. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Stayed up there for a few nights for a company meeting and found it to be very productive. The meeting rooms, restaurant, and break snacks were very good. Stayed in the "old" section - plus side: the rooms were large, well layer out, and clean. Minus: they were a little "motel" like in feel and dated in several ways (the heater reminded me of my dorm room in 1977). The folks at the front desk and the bell guys up front were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsresort, Public Relations Manager at The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center

Address: 2301 North Millbend Drive, The Woodlands, TX 77380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in 28,000 acres of forest north of Houston, The Woodlands Resort is a destination of fun and relaxation. Just steps from 440 deluxe guest rooms are two championship golf courses and the Forest Oasis Waterscape™. Guests enjoy seasonal poolside dining, dive-in movies and family-friendly entertainment. Other resort amenities include a full-service spa and fitness facility, 180 miles of trails, and tennis courts. Explore the property’s three restaurants or lounge, plus nearby shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Resort And Conference Center
The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodlands Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.